Cola-Basted Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Disappointed. Used a spiral ham which I think was a mistake. Had to cut the cooking time as ham was drying out. I felt the glaze didn't.t do anything for the ham. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I just made this today for Easter dinner and it was very good! I used Dr Pepper and left out the bread crumbs and everyone said it tasted great and asked what I used. Thanks for the recipe -- will be using this again when I make ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Had this Christmas 2010, Family LOVED it... Definitely try this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I have been making something similar for years; using ginger ale, adding a small bit of ginger and skipping the bread crumbs. This recipe turned out good, but family prefers the ginger ale. thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I accidentally purchased a pre-sliced ham from my grocery, and I think that was a bad move... the slices pulled away from each other and it was dry towards the outside. Next time I will make sure to buy a ham that has not been sliced. That said, the rest of the ham was SO moist and had great flavor, and so I will definitely use this cola-basting method again. I also really liked how the glaze turned out, had great sweet-tangy flavor without being too sweet. I took other reviewers advice and did not use the breadcrumbs, and I didn't miss them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
used coke zero since it already had brown sugar in it, and i used about 4 cups or 2 cans. this was impressive. i used a spiral cut 10 lb ham from the grocery store and this made it almost as good as a bought honey baked. ill make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
second time making it. my 1 yearold and 3 yearold love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coltonjames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
The only ingredients I had on hand were cola, brown sugar and pineapple. So here is my version. Marinate ham(8lbs) in cola overnite in oven bag but do not poke holes in bag until ready to bake. Turn bag a few times throughout the process to insure "even-ness". Drain cola and add pineapple with juice and rub ham with brown sugar. I only added 1/2 the sugar. The cola is used to tenderize the ham and Boy did it!!!Delicious!!! This was the best Easter ham ever....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
It was as good as, or better than all the hams I've made in the past. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Show Low Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rotonda West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Delicious!! I did not use the breadcrumbs but used everything else. My family could not get enough and others requested the recipe! Have and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States