Cola-Basted Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Cooked this ham last Christmas, didn't do the bread crumbs route didn't sound good to me. But use my dr pepper over my ham and continued the recipe and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Disappointed. Used a spiral ham which I think was a mistake. Had to cut the cooking time as ham was drying out. I felt the glaze didn't.t do anything for the ham. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I just made this today for Easter dinner and it was very good! I used Dr Pepper and left out the bread crumbs and everyone said it tasted great and asked what I used. Thanks for the recipe -- will be using this again when I make ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballmomnva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Had this Christmas 2010, Family LOVED it... Definitely try this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I have been making something similar for years; using ginger ale, adding a small bit of ginger and skipping the bread crumbs. This recipe turned out good, but family prefers the ginger ale. thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I accidentally purchased a pre-sliced ham from my grocery, and I think that was a bad move... the slices pulled away from each other and it was dry towards the outside. Next time I will make sure to buy a ham that has not been sliced. That said, the rest of the ham was SO moist and had great flavor, and so I will definitely use this cola-basting method again. I also really liked how the glaze turned out, had great sweet-tangy flavor without being too sweet. I took other reviewers advice and did not use the breadcrumbs, and I didn't miss them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
used coke zero since it already had brown sugar in it, and i used about 4 cups or 2 cans. this was impressive. i used a spiral cut 10 lb ham from the grocery store and this made it almost as good as a bought honey baked. ill make it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
second time making it. my 1 yearold and 3 yearold love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coltonjames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
The only ingredients I had on hand were cola, brown sugar and pineapple. So here is my version. Marinate ham(8lbs) in cola overnite in oven bag but do not poke holes in bag until ready to bake. Turn bag a few times throughout the process to insure "even-ness". Drain cola and add pineapple with juice and rub ham with brown sugar. I only added 1/2 the sugar. The cola is used to tenderize the ham and Boy did it!!!Delicious!!! This was the best Easter ham ever....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
It was as good as, or better than all the hams I've made in the past. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Show Low Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rotonda West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States