Cogy's World Famous Matzo Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Just had these last night for an early sedar. They were a HIT with homemade chicken broth! I may jazz them up with a few more spices, aromatics or schmaltz instead of oil next time for a twist :) These were very simple to make. I doubled the recipe which made way too much (2 large balls per person... 8 people) so half the dough is still in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I accidentally used Matzah Cake Meal without making any changes, and these still turned out really well. The flavor of your stock makes or breaks this dish, but the Matzo balls were really good. It made 36 balls, so I fed my family of 8 and had leftovers. I did use about 4 quarts of stock, though. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This recipe makes up the absolute best matzo balls I have ever had. They were fluffy, not heavy and very flavorful. This made about sixteen 1-2" matzo balls. This will be my go-to recipe, especially when I don't have schmaltz on hand for my grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
the best balls I have tasted my whole life... ate every night for three days in a row while sick... I believe they were instrumental in my recovery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
OMG OMG OMG.. this was beyond awesome.. probably one of the best dishes i've ever had.. i tried making matzo ball soup once and it was horribly bland.. first mistake.. i followed the directions on the box.. i should have known better.. i cut this recipe in half and only addition to the matzo balls was about 1 1/2 tsp of fresh parsley.. i made my infamous "caldo" (chicken & tons of veggies soup).. saved the broth and cooked the matzo balls in that.. i hate to rile up all the jews in beverly hills.. but this is better than the matzo ball soup at The Nosh.. and i LOVE their matzo ball soup.. ty for such a versatile recipe.. my tummy is smiling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Fantastic! It was my first time making matzo balls, so I'm sure any mistakes were my own. Some of them fell apart and with the balls I kind of got a matzo mush but... even that was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Excellent! These Matzo balls nursed me back to health when I was suffering from the flu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JayMatt19
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Have always just used a ix. This is my first time making the matzo balls from scratch, and they are so YUMMY!! Very easy to make and very yummy. I made them each with a diameter of 1inch, so my batch yielded over 20 matzo balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Famous Pork Chops

Make these delicious baked pork chops for an impressive dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States