Cogy's World Famous Matzo Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I signed up just to rate this recipe. It serves closer to 10 than 4, so be prepared. We had leftovers here for days (but it reheats well). I made these balls to practice for the upcoming Holiday, and they came out great! Use salted water on your hands to keep the dough from sticking to them, and drop the balls into the broth with a slotted spoon. I also used the freezer to get the dough ready faster. It took about an hour. I added some veggies to the soup. My Jewish mother-in-law even said they were some of the best she's ever had. I'm not sure if this recipe is kosher or not, but it's great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This recipe makes up the absolute best matzo balls I have ever had. They were fluffy, not heavy and very flavorful. This made about sixteen 1-2" matzo balls. This will be my go-to recipe, especially when I don't have schmaltz on hand for my grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Just had these last night for an early sedar. They were a HIT with homemade chicken broth! I may jazz them up with a few more spices, aromatics or schmaltz instead of oil next time for a twist :) These were very simple to make. I doubled the recipe which made way too much (2 large balls per person... 8 people) so half the dough is still in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Fantastic! It was my first time making matzo balls, so I'm sure any mistakes were my own. Some of them fell apart and with the balls I kind of got a matzo mush but... even that was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I accidentally used Matzah Cake Meal without making any changes, and these still turned out really well. The flavor of your stock makes or breaks this dish, but the Matzo balls were really good. It made 36 balls, so I fed my family of 8 and had leftovers. I did use about 4 quarts of stock, though. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
the best balls I have tasted my whole life... ate every night for three days in a row while sick... I believe they were instrumental in my recovery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Excellent! These Matzo balls nursed me back to health when I was suffering from the flu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Not a huge fan of all the extra ingredients. I didn't have the soda so they didn't come out as fluffy as usual. I might try it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lruddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Turkey Matzo Ball Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey broth into amazing matzo ball soup.

Famous Pork Chops

Make these delicious baked pork chops for an impressive dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States