Coffeebar Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Needed more sweetener - but thats also personal preference. Best Chai so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Yum yum yum yum I am in love. I added on an extra cinnamon stick and some ground cinnamon, as well as fresh ginger root. Had to omit the cardamom because I didn't have any. Left out the milk because I was planning to use this as a chai concentrate that I can refrigerate for later use. Soo good. Thanks for the recipe. Also, some advice for optimum enjoyment: FIRST, boil the water, then steep the tea bags REMOVED FROM HEAT for about four minutes. Remove the bags, return to heat, add remaining ingredients, bring that to a boil, and then simmer for at least fifteen minutes. No need to ruin the tea by making it too bitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Love it! I add a bit extra of each spice and use 5 (decaf) tea bags for more flavor. Since I live in the tropics, I need this iced - I add all the spices to the water and bring to a boil. I simmer w/ the teabags for 5 minutes, then drain and add sugar/honey. With 6 ice cubes and the cold milk, it's ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Delicious! Use as many whole spices as possible as ground ones make a bit of "sludge" at the bottom. I like to make this in my little crockpot and let it cook on low for a couple of hours. Tastes so, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I've been using this recipe for over 4 years now. It's far superior to anything you can get from Starbucks or the like, and it tastes much closer to what you would get at an Indian restaurant. In fact, I made some for an Indian coworker a while back and he was amazed at how good *and* authentic it tasted. Easy to make, easy to adjust to your tastes. Super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was delicious. A bit too sweet but otherwise very good. Will be making it again. Thanks Heather for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I followed the suggestions of one of the commenters, SKIDZ7 to create the dairy-free concentrate. I used Celestial Seasoning's Morning Thunder tea and orange blossom honey. To drink, I mixed equal amounts of the tea mixture and milk... I cant believe an entire box of Celestial Seasonings tea cost less than a large chai at Starbucks ... and the homemade version tastes better! (Would have ranked it a five, but the additional steps suggested by SKIDZ7 are essential!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 100indecisions

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I loved this recipe!!! What a terrific flavor! I added soy milk instead of regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Love this recipe - as good as from a coffee shop - and SO easy!! The only change to the recipe that I make is to not add the milk at the end of recipe. Instead, I take 1/2 cup of the syrup and add frothed milk from my coffee maker. I store the rest of the syrup in the fridge, and just heat some up when I want it, adding the frothed milk. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
It's a little strong, but maybe I boiled it too long and also I didn't use milk at all since I didn't feel like having milk at the time. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States