Coffeebar Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
A quick tip for all those spices that is difficult to strain - tie up all spices, including the ground spices, into a coffee filter and a twist-tie from bread bags; add the spice bag to the water to boil for a good 20 minutes. I add orange peel and peppercorns to my spice bag. Tea is supposed to be steeped, not boiled, so after the spices are boiled with the water and honey, I turn off the heat and add the tea bags to steep. After the tea has steeped to my preferred strength, I remove the tea bags. Then I add the milk and bring to a light simmer and then immediately remove from heat. ONLY then, do I add vanilla, as vanilla looses a lot of its flavor when boiled. I've seen this exact recipe on an Indian website several years back. Still good, though, and as close to what you can find in an actual coffee shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I've been buying Oregon Chai concentrate for years and every time I reach for a $5 per box in the store I grimace, but I've got to have my chai fix every day. I tried this today and was surprised at how good it was. Didn't have any cardamom but I will buy some to try on the next batch and I will double the recipe so that it will make about 8 cups of tea. I made this without the milk, simmered the spices & 1/8 cup of honey for about 10 minutes, removed from heat and added the tea bags and let steep for another 5 minutes. Keep in the fridge and add milk when you make a serving. Add preferred sweetener if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very good. I actually had the Tazo brand concentrate on my grocery list when I saw this. I also made it without the milk. Simmered for 20 minutes, let it steep for another 20, then refrigerate the concentrate. I made a double batch this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
try adding a pinch of salt,it tastes better.also this chai(hot) is excellent in cold/sore throat.in that case adding 4-5 leaves of holy basil would do wonders
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Leave out the nutmeg, put in black pepper! I prefer to use a mix of spices I got at the Indian food store - called "Tea Masala" (Laxmi brand). It has lasted me over a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
love this , make it every morning. But I use Soy, not milk and a pinch of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
The cardamom ended up being too overpowering for me. But would have been excellent without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookieMomster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Yum! I thought it was a little sweet at first but it may have simply been the intense flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine jellybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
quick and easy to make. I used just 1/8 cup of honey because I don't like my chai so sweet and this still tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
HOnestly I kind of liked it. Next time I make this I will definitely put in less honey. It had an almost overly sweet taste and sometimes that just doesnt taste right but overall I liked it kind of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States