Coffeebar Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
In incorporated several of the previous reviewers suggestions (thanks all!) and came up with a wonderful drink for this evening. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Mmm, delicious. Next time I make it I'll use a little less cardamon. A quarter teaspoon doesn't sound like much, but the cardamon I used was extremely fresh, and pretty spicy! Thanks, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Excellent recipe!! Way better than Starbucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
We love this! We double the recipe, using only 6 tea bags and doubling the spices, including the honey. It tastes better than Starbucks' according to my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Fantastic! Just like the $5 chai at the coffeehouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I've tried this recipe twice. The first time was terrible by my own mistakes. I failed to "read between the lines" and take the pot off the eye when putting in my ingredients. The result was a very bitter paper tasting substance. I also think I used the wrong tea. The second time I used a different tea and it tastes much better, but is still a little bitter. (I added just a bit of brown sugar to take off some of the bitter taste). I have only had Coffeehouse chai (Panera Bread & Starbucks), so perhaps I've never had the real thing. I wish there was a way to know what I was doing wrong because I think this recipe is great. __________________ 2/26/11 I'm older and wiser now and tried this again today. SO much better this time around. I didn't follow the recipe instructions and instead simmered all the ingredients except the milk for five minutes. I then added my tea bags and let it steep for four minutes. Lastly I added the milk and brought it up to a boil. This resulted in a Chai that was NOT bitter. We only use skim milk though, so I added some caramel non-dairy creamer to make it thicker and a little sweeter. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBetty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I really like the Chai from Starbucks. They actually sell the concentrate there (Tazo Brand) for about $5 per carton. I bought it and liked it, but figured I'd try making it myself. My first batch was made just as the recipe suggests and to be honest I was NOT impressed. For my second batch I made these changes. 1) Boil all ingredients (except milk) for 10 minutes 2) Simmer (lid on) for 25-30 minutes 3) remove from heat and let sit for another 30 minutes (lid on) 4) Squeeze any water out of the tea bags and strain the whole mixture. This leaves you with 1-1.4 cups of concentrate. In case you didn't notice, I omitted the milk completely. My end result was a concentrate similar to the Tazo concentrate available at Starbucks, but it actually tasted BETTER in a side-by-side comparison. It tastes a bit stronger, and sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This chai recipe is scrumptious! I also add in a shake of Allspice and a peppercorn and skip the honey to lower the sugar. Splenda or Vanilla soy milk tastes good to sweeten it. I like froth, so I separate the milk and put about ½ cup of the milk into my Magic Bullet (it doesn’t work in my blender) and froth it up for 1 minute then nuke it for about 45 seconds. I make the recipe as called for and then add the amount of milk I want to the top of my cup of tea. A shake of cinnamon, and I feel like I have the best treat around. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Oh my gosh! I am now a Chai tea addict! However, I took the suggestion of another reviewer and bought Chai tea by Stash and then I added some Sweet N' Low and the french vanilla cream to keep the calories down a bit. Besides, I was surprised at how expensive cardamon is! This tea is so delicious that my ten year old son loves to drink it! (I'm not sure I really like sharing it with him, it's so yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Very good recipe for Chai, although chickory and nutmeg would also make very tasty additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States