Coffeebar Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I really like the Chai from Starbucks. They actually sell the concentrate there (Tazo Brand) for about $5 per carton. I bought it and liked it, but figured I'd try making it myself. My first batch was made just as the recipe suggests and to be honest I was NOT impressed. For my second batch I made these changes. 1) Boil all ingredients (except milk) for 10 minutes 2) Simmer (lid on) for 25-30 minutes 3) remove from heat and let sit for another 30 minutes (lid on) 4) Squeeze any water out of the tea bags and strain the whole mixture. This leaves you with 1-1.4 cups of concentrate. In case you didn't notice, I omitted the milk completely. My end result was a concentrate similar to the Tazo concentrate available at Starbucks, but it actually tasted BETTER in a side-by-side comparison. It tastes a bit stronger, and sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Just tried this, and it's very good. I used fresh ginger, ground cinnamon, and one cardamom pod, FYI. If you are getting a bitter drink, try leaving out the tea until after the water has boiled, then adding the tea and letting it steep off heat for 3-4 minutes. Boiling tea brings all the tannins out, and they are terribly bitter. Next time I will probably add more of all the spices, and add black pepper, since I like my chai robust. But the recipe is very good as is, and much better than forking over $4 for a box of concentrate at the store. (I'm leaving out the milk and keeping the spice/tea/honey mix in the fridge for chai emergencies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Great chai! A touch of sweetness, but not overly sweet. A perfect blend of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
A quick tip for all those spices that is difficult to strain - tie up all spices, including the ground spices, into a coffee filter and a twist-tie from bread bags; add the spice bag to the water to boil for a good 20 minutes. I add orange peel and peppercorns to my spice bag. Tea is supposed to be steeped, not boiled, so after the spices are boiled with the water and honey, I turn off the heat and add the tea bags to steep. After the tea has steeped to my preferred strength, I remove the tea bags. Then I add the milk and bring to a light simmer and then immediately remove from heat. ONLY then, do I add vanilla, as vanilla looses a lot of its flavor when boiled. I've seen this exact recipe on an Indian website several years back. Still good, though, and as close to what you can find in an actual coffee shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I love this recipe. It is just what I was looking for. I made it even easier by using store bought Chai tea bags instead of the plain black tea bags. This way you do not have to add all the spices. Just add the water, honey, vanilla and milk. Tastes just like the expensive kind you get at the coffee places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANRHEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
An excellent recipe! Takes moderate effort but the results are worth it. I am not a big fan of the honey flavor and will experiment with sugar next time. Thanks for the great recipe, though -- now I can avoid Starbucks and make it at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I have made this with splenda instead of honey and I also used whole cardamon pods as I had them and soy milk which I love. Would drink it cold in summer. Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
This was very good both hot and iced and a good way to enjoy the benefits of tea and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
LOVE IT ! I follewed SKIDZ7 suggestions, but added 2 cardamon pods instead of the ground. Strained it with a coffee filter in a hand seive, cooled it and put it in the refrigerator. When I wanted a mug full, heated my 1 cup of milk and added enough mixture to taste. Great for a cold day here in Minnesota! Coffee houses watch out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATHBUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Excellant flavor! I like to add a dash of black pepper for a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States