Coffeebar Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
It's a little strong, but maybe I boiled it too long and also I didn't use milk at all since I didn't feel like having milk at the time. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windband

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Great chai, the flavors really come together and pop. It has an authentic Indian flavor due to the cardamom, ginger, and cinnamon combination. As others have mentioned, be sure to simmer for 15-20 minutes. I added only a little over 1 cup of milk...else it would have been too diluted of a concentrate. Also beware that the drink can get bitter quickly. Keep tasting while simmering to make sure it is to taste. Other than that, this is a must try- especially on a cold, snowy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rima

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I cut this in half for just me. Two servings fit very well in my extra large John Deere coffee mug. I doubled the spices, as I like my chai a little spicier. Very good. NOTE: Now that I make this low-calorie for me, I use either a little warmed fat free half-n-half or fat free evaporated milk and I cut back on the honey just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Love it, love it, love it! Almost perfect just as written. The only thing I changed was to not add the tea bags with the honey. I added them after the milk had come to a boil. I turned the heat off and steeped them for only 3 minutes. Otherwise you are releasing too many of the tea's tannins - resulting in a more bitter taste. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I've made the recipe as written and it's very good. And, like others, I made it again, following Skidz7's suggestions. It was really good, although a little bitter. The bitterness was easily fixed with the addition of a little more vanilla. I will follow the same suggestions again, with a few changes: do NOT boil the teabags. Add extra bags for stronger tea or just accept that it might be weak, but I've noticed that boiling teabags results in more bitter tea. Also, I won't add the vanilla until the end so the flavour will be more pronounced. I think I prefer the Chai Tea Mix by Jo, but this might be a good one to let sit in the crock pot on a cold day. :) Thanks for sharing, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is a good chai recipe. I doubled the amount of spices though and I added less milk, otherwise I don't taste the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aredendra
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
After many, many brews, let me update this with the most recent version of "my" form of this recipe which still uses SKID27's concentrate base. I use 4 cups of water, boil, add 5 tea bags (3 regular, 2 decaf), let boil for a minute or two and then remove. I drop in double the honey, vanilla and then double the called-for spices. I've upped the cinnamon to four half-size sticks, grinding fresh nutmeg into a tea ball with the other loose spices including 8-10 peppercorns. I also just recently added 6 allspice berries and 2-3 medium-size pieces of star anise. I feel the anise really rounds out the whole set of flavors and finished this tea. If I have ginger in the house, I cut off a quarter-inch chunk of that and throw it in too. I find it preferable to use whole spices as much as possible to cut down on the inevitable grit in the bottom of the brew when using ground. This is my final product, I think, and a really good cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This chai is great. I love the Starbucks chai, but it doesn't come in decaf. I used decaf tea bags and added one anise star to the original recipe. YUM! My chai crazy neighbor loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
LOVE IT ! I follewed SKIDZ7 suggestions, but added 2 cardamon pods instead of the ground. Strained it with a coffee filter in a hand seive, cooled it and put it in the refrigerator. When I wanted a mug full, heated my 1 cup of milk and added enough mixture to taste. Great for a cold day here in Minnesota! Coffee houses watch out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATHBUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I still prefer Starbucks Chai. This was a nice, quick alternative to prepare at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States