Coffeebar Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Used this with Vanilla protein powder and milk. Warmed the milk like I would hot cocoa, mixed powder and added the spices. GREAT way to "drink" a meal. I eat a lot of protein and use shakes when I'm tired of chewing all that meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Just made this, and it is wonderful. I made a couple of changes, but the basic recipe is great, too - I've made it exactly as written other times before. This time I added a few peppercorns to the boiling water with the cinnamon stick (I use 2 sticks). I used about 1/4 tsp peppercorns - sounds weird, but it really adds a nice, spicy flavor for those people who want more kick. You can also grind fresh pepper right into the mixture instead. Otherwise, I make it exactly as written, and I chill it and serve it over ice. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryanneA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I like this well enough, doesn't taste like the chai in India, but is a nice drink for cool days. Very warming to the soul. I leave out the cloves (I don't care for them) and use powdered cinnamon instead of a stick, this lets you pour the chai right from the pot to the cup without straining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
AMAZING! It tastes just like the chai tea latte from Starbucks. However I made some changes: firstly, I used only 3 tea bags because I didn't want it to be too strong. I also didn't put honey (never really was too fond of the taste) and put 6 teaspoons of sugar instead. I put 5 pods of cardamom (Mom is Lebanese so we had those lying around the pantry). I also didn't put the nutmeg and chopped up about a teaspoon of fresh ginger. The whole house smelled so aromatic! I still cannot get over how much it tastes like the chai tea latte from Starbucks and I will definitely make over and over again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I prefer this much more than the coffee shop chai. You can sweeten it to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Bolling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Super easy way to recreate those expensive coffee shop Chai drinks and it is perfect on a cold day. Even great in the summer over ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Tasted a lot like Starbucks. I will use a higher quality tea next time, but that was my fault!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Our new family favorite hot drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Made this as a concentrate as others did (didn't add honey or milk)- I microwaved a cup of skim milk, added 1/4 to 1/2 of this concentrate and added 1 packet of Splenda as the sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
A quick tip for all those spices that is difficult to strain - tie up all spices, including the ground spices, into a coffee filter and a twist-tie from bread bags; add the spice bag to the water to boil for a good 20 minutes. I add orange peel and peppercorns to my spice bag. Tea is supposed to be steeped, not boiled, so after the spices are boiled with the water and honey, I turn off the heat and add the tea bags to steep. After the tea has steeped to my preferred strength, I remove the tea bags. Then I add the milk and bring to a light simmer and then immediately remove from heat. ONLY then, do I add vanilla, as vanilla looses a lot of its flavor when boiled. I've seen this exact recipe on an Indian website several years back. Still good, though, and as close to what you can find in an actual coffee shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yum2001

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States