Coffee Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Pretty good. I think the brewed coffee should be rather strong for best flavour. Also, the custard never got *very* thick but it set fine. I think this makes 10 smallish servings or 8 moderate ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
This is a really good recipe. I tried it with other liquids besides coffee and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
When I decided to make this today, I was a little scared that it wouldn't turn out. However, it was relatively easy to make, and turned out absolutely fantastic! It set up perfectly and tasted very, very good. I did overwhip my egg whites, but that didn't even seem to make a difference. The texture on this is wonderful, almost mousse-like. Please do not be scared of this recipe; it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This is very good. Do not judge that thickness of the coffee at first just do as the recipe states and it will thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Houston Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
did not turn out for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robo :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This had really, really good flavor but the recipe is kinda ambiguous. No way will this serve 10 people! I got 2 parfait glasses full & that's it. I couldn't get the coffee mixture to thicken up over the double boiler after about 30 minutes so I topped a burner w/ my diffuser & cooked it on that. It still didn't thicken up much & worried me but after adding the whipped cream & refrigerating it, it did set up. I tried umnolding onto a plate but it didn't hold it's shape very well so I spooned it into parfait glasses, topped it w/ some whipped cream & drizzled some coffee liquer over it. Not sure why it's said the gelatin separates, there were no layers to mine (maybe I didn't fold in the whipped cream well enough) but it was tasty nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I was very dissappointed how this recipe turned out. Maybe I did something wrong as it turned out lumpy. The flavour was good though and I used a few sachets of Equal (artificial sweetner) instead of sugar but make sure you put it in as the coffee mixture becomes custard. Also the yeild does not make 10 servings more like 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Mine didn't turn out even close to what the picture looks like. It was really eggy and lumpy. I followed all of the directions and used the exact amount of ingredients specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
First off, i would more call it a moose or something, not a souffle. Next time i will brewing the coffee stronger and doing 1 cup coffee, 1 cup milk, i think that will improve the consistency a bit. It had nice flavor served with chocolate sauce and a few raspberries. I ended up adding an extra egg yolk to the custard mixture but that may not be needed with the milk/coffee ration altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Gunline Coffee

This winter coffee mixture features hot cocoa mix and holiday seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States