Coffee Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
5 stars for taste but 1 star for ease of use. I followed the previous reviewer and made the instant coffee into a paste. I also added an additional tbsp of butter. The dough was very crumbly even after refrigeration. I wound up pressing and shaping the cookies by hand. But they were delicious! I enjoy black coffee so the strong flavor was perfect for me. My husband uses sugar in his coffee but he liked them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
The cookie itself didn't have enough flavor for my taste so we ended up icing the cookies with melted chocolate and that helped but I don't know if I would try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
They taste alright, but they're extremely buttery. I'll keep looking for more worthy recipes for my instant coffee grounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I wasn't sure how I'd feel about these cookies since I don't drink coffee, but I'm glad I made these. The coffee granules hadn't melted in the dough when I put them in the oven, so I was worried that I might end up tasting the individual granules, but I didn't. The coffee flavor, despite being very strong, somehow blended very well into the rest of the flavor and didn't end up being overwhelming or unpleasant at all. I like my cookies on the crispier side, so I put them on the top rack and baked for a few extra minutes and they came out just perfect! I just rolled the dough into little balls and punched them flat, and they turned out fine. I put chocolate on only half of them, and most everyone preferred the ones without chocolate. HUGE hit with coffee lovers & non-coffee lovers alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This recipe has become one of my signature cookies despite a love-hate realtionship with the recipe. The flavor of this cookie is very good so I have continued to try different techniques with the dough. I have found these cookies do-able as cut-outs, but do not like the dough getting darker each time it's rolled due to the coffee granules breaking down. You end up with different colored cookies and that bugs me. However, I have done star cut-outs drizzled with chocolate several times at Christmas and people go crazy for them. Once a whim I allowed the dough to soften and popped it into the cookie press. I experimented with the discs and found that I could successfullly use several of the discs that had larger openings. Made teeny hearts for Valentine's Day one year and drizzled them with chocolate. They were bite-sized, crispy, delicious, and just adorable. Good tasing recipe worth working on to get the result you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly. Not the prettiest cookies I have ever made. Texture too grainy for my taste (which if I would have thought about it ahead of time, its too be expected) also too crispy for what I like. Also I thought coffee would be a flavor not the ONLY flavor you could taste. Not my favorite, I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RyansWife2012

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
omg, just made these, soo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I think we can add little bit shortening to make the Coffee Shortbread more crumby
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
very very good! making the second batch now -I also had to chill the dough for an hour before I was able to work with it. But all in all it's a great recipe! Adding chocolate really makes the flavors come out..loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I can't decide on if I like these or not. They aren't horrible but they aren't super yummy. I made the recipe as it calls for but added 1 more Tablespoon of coffee just because I love coffee flavored things. I also already had my oven on 350 so I baked them for 12 minutes and I should have baked a minute or 2 less because they came out a little more crispy than I like. instead of rolling out the dough and using cookie cutters I just rolled into balls then flattened with my fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States