Coffee Roasted Beef Chuck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This was definitely a 10 in our family book! We're not coffee drinkers; it was mostly out of curiosity that I tried the recipe. I usually read all the reviews but didn't this time...I was just looking for a chuck roast recipe for which I had all the ingredients! Instead of using less coffee, I used MORE because my coffee maker is 10 cups, and I figured I'd just get a little more gravy. Reading the reviews, later, and hearing it was rather a strong coffee flavor, it was a little scary since we don't drink coffee. I added 2 Lipton Onion Mushroom Soup Mix packets to balance out the coffee and some thick sliced potatoes and baby carrots to round out the dish. At the end, the taste was DELLICIOUS! There was SO MUCH gravy however, that, after I removed the meat and vegetables, thickened the gravy and added the sour cream, I added some couscous to the gravy. I used 2 5.45 oz boxes (less the flavor packets, of course) and, while it was quite a bit thicker than we would have preferred, it was absolutely wonderful! I think I'll make it again this weekend to take to my parent's home for Father's Day! Thanks for a winner, Luella...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This was an amazing recipe. I was curious but skeptical about using coffee, but it turned out to be great. I used one and half cup of espresso (about 6-7 shots?) plus two cups of water. I didn't have any beef broth or buillon, so to enhance flavor, I added fresh rosemary, thyme, some cajun seasoning, one plus cup of red wine, and about two tablespoon of soysauce. I had to cook it for about four hours, and the meat was tender and ready to go. Coffee seems to have given the meat a earthy, almost gamy flavor. I served it at a small dinner party, all my friends thought it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Delicious. Very moist and flavorful. Followed suggestions on reducing amount of coffee to 4 cups and adding 2 cups of water. My husband and I really enjoyed this. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Since so many reviewers said this recipe was bland, I added 1t Durkee Steak Seasoning; 1/2t ea cajun seasoning & rosemary; 1/4t ea thyme, red pepper flakes & cayenne; then 3/4c red wine & 1/4c soy sauce in place of the 6th cup of coffee(almost all of the other reviewers' recommendations!). I simmered it for 2.5 hrs & when I went to turn it over, I tested it -- it was already past done & getting dry, so 5 hrs would have been way too long! No one else complained of this. We couldn't eat it the night I cooked it, so I put the broth in the frig separate from the meat. The next day, the grease was in a firm layer on the top, so I separated it off. When I made the gravy, I just used a small portion of the grease (one reviewer said this recipe was too greasy). For me, the gravy was very tasty, but much too concentrated. I think that next time I will follow JIHI's recommendation to put in 2c less coffee & add 2c water. I rarely cook chuck roast because it is not a good cut & I don't have luck cooking roasts. However, in spite of it already being a little dry, I must say the meat was wonderfully tender & was excellent with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was a pretty good recipe, I added beef broth instead of the boullion cubes others had suggested, and I used some rosemary, thyme and a little oregano too (1 tsp ea) you don't have to like coffee to appreciate this recipe, there is no "coffee" flavor, I just think it makes the juices and gravy a little richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I was also skeptical of the coffee addition. I loosely followed what kimshin2000 did-added water,soy sauce, thyme and oregano, as I did not have beef broth or any wine (terrible situation!) It reduced so nicely that I decided we really didn't need the calories of the sour cream-it thickened into a very rich, flavorful gravy. Thank you for the idea-I will be toying with this one again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Judging from the fact that when I got to the dish at pot luck, it was empty, I think this must have been a pretty good recipe. I'm glad I tasted it before I took it. It was great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This recipe was wonderful! Very flavorful and easy! I followed the tips from the other reviewers and added beef broth, red wine and less coffee (but very strong coffee) and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was the worst pot roast that I have ever tasted.. gravy wise. The meat was pretty much OK. I tried to correct it, to no avail. It was bitter, and just totally off. I have tried many recipes from this site, all successful, except for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
The meat had good flavor and was tender but it was sooo greasy (due I'm sure to the cut of meat) and was quite bland! Will probably not make again because there are lots of other ways to cook a roast that we like better. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States