Coffee Roasted Beef Chuck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
My family loved this roast. 5 hours is a long time but it just sits there and cooks. My child didn't care for the sour cream but she ate it anyway which says a lot for the dish. A definite cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
The sauce has a strong, overpowering coffee flavor, and overall it is very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
I ALWAYS have left over coffee, so I tried this out on the family and everyone liked it. I did, however, spice it up a little bit as I tasted it durring cooking. I used stew beef; added a few seasonings, some worchestershire sauce, and beef bullion, along with a few cups of extra water... for I boiled noodles right in with it at the end... I did not need to thicken it. I served sour cream at the table to save on calories. I will play with this recipe some more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
Very tender. I made it in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Tender and tasty. The advantage of slow-cooking being you can put it together and walk away. The sauce is particularly good-especially if you are a "gravy loving" kind of person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
I cooked this in the crock pot and it was easy to put together but I too, thought it had a really strong coffee taste. I don't drink coffee so that could be why it tasted so strong to me. I added a packet of dry gravy mix which helped it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I found that I could not taste the coffee and the sauce overall was rather bland. Admittedly, I had difficulty thickening the sauce...maybe I should have just used half the liquid after cooking the meat. The meat itself was very tender and 'fell apart'. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Note that I cooked this recipe in my slow cooker. While the roast was tender thanks to slow cooking, I can't say that it was especially flavorful. I expected more oomph from the coffee and mushrooms. Keep in mind too, that it's a good idea to temper the sour cream before adding it to the hot sauce otherwise it will separate like mine did. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I did make a few changes after reading the reviews, I cut the coffee down to 4 cups with 2 cups water, and added 2 beef bullion cubes. I didn't have fresh mushrooms so I used canned and it came fine. Also since I started this late in the day I threw it into my electric pressure cooker for 80 minutes. The family raved about it!! I will definately use this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I wasn't sure about this recipe because of the coffee, but I am so happy that I tried it. After reading the reviews I knew to make some changes so I also cut the coffee down to 4 cups and added two cups of beef broth. I also added some Montreal Steak Seasoning and salt for that extra zing. The roast completely fell apart it was so tender, in fact I almost couldn't turn it over without it breaking apart at the halfway point. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States