Coffee Roasted Beef Chuck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
My family loved this roast. 5 hours is a long time but it just sits there and cooks. My child didn't care for the sour cream but she ate it anyway which says a lot for the dish. A definite cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
I ALWAYS have left over coffee, so I tried this out on the family and everyone liked it. I did, however, spice it up a little bit as I tasted it durring cooking. I used stew beef; added a few seasonings, some worchestershire sauce, and beef bullion, along with a few cups of extra water... for I boiled noodles right in with it at the end... I did not need to thicken it. I served sour cream at the table to save on calories. I will play with this recipe some more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I did make a few changes after reading the reviews, I cut the coffee down to 4 cups with 2 cups water, and added 2 beef bullion cubes. I didn't have fresh mushrooms so I used canned and it came fine. Also since I started this late in the day I threw it into my electric pressure cooker for 80 minutes. The family raved about it!! I will definately use this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I wasn't sure about this recipe because of the coffee, but I am so happy that I tried it. After reading the reviews I knew to make some changes so I also cut the coffee down to 4 cups and added two cups of beef broth. I also added some Montreal Steak Seasoning and salt for that extra zing. The roast completely fell apart it was so tender, in fact I almost couldn't turn it over without it breaking apart at the halfway point. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
The only change I made was to add a couple of beef bouillon cubes in addition to the full amount of coffee. This was wonderful over noodles, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Yummy, I used a chuck "steak" it was only about a pound or two, I only used a cup and a half of coffee, and 2 cups water and 2 buillion cubes. I seasoned the meat first with spike and emerils stuff, and pepper. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAMRF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This recipe was wonderful! Very flavorful and easy! I followed the tips from the other reviewers and added beef broth, red wine and less coffee (but very strong coffee) and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Delicious. Very moist and flavorful. Followed suggestions on reducing amount of coffee to 4 cups and adding 2 cups of water. My husband and I really enjoyed this. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This was an amazing recipe. I was curious but skeptical about using coffee, but it turned out to be great. I used one and half cup of espresso (about 6-7 shots?) plus two cups of water. I didn't have any beef broth or buillon, so to enhance flavor, I added fresh rosemary, thyme, some cajun seasoning, one plus cup of red wine, and about two tablespoon of soysauce. I had to cook it for about four hours, and the meat was tender and ready to go. Coffee seems to have given the meat a earthy, almost gamy flavor. I served it at a small dinner party, all my friends thought it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I was also skeptical of the coffee addition. I loosely followed what kimshin2000 did-added water,soy sauce, thyme and oregano, as I did not have beef broth or any wine (terrible situation!) It reduced so nicely that I decided we really didn't need the calories of the sour cream-it thickened into a very rich, flavorful gravy. Thank you for the idea-I will be toying with this one again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States