Coffee Roasted Beef Chuck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I wasn't sure about this recipe because of the coffee, but I am so happy that I tried it. After reading the reviews I knew to make some changes so I also cut the coffee down to 4 cups and added two cups of beef broth. I also added some Montreal Steak Seasoning and salt for that extra zing. The roast completely fell apart it was so tender, in fact I almost couldn't turn it over without it breaking apart at the halfway point. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I did make a few changes after reading the reviews, I cut the coffee down to 4 cups with 2 cups water, and added 2 beef bullion cubes. I didn't have fresh mushrooms so I used canned and it came fine. Also since I started this late in the day I threw it into my electric pressure cooker for 80 minutes. The family raved about it!! I will definately use this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Note that I cooked this recipe in my slow cooker. While the roast was tender thanks to slow cooking, I can't say that it was especially flavorful. I expected more oomph from the coffee and mushrooms. Keep in mind too, that it's a good idea to temper the sour cream before adding it to the hot sauce otherwise it will separate like mine did. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I found that I could not taste the coffee and the sauce overall was rather bland. Admittedly, I had difficulty thickening the sauce...maybe I should have just used half the liquid after cooking the meat. The meat itself was very tender and 'fell apart'. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
I cooked this in the crock pot and it was easy to put together but I too, thought it had a really strong coffee taste. I don't drink coffee so that could be why it tasted so strong to me. I added a packet of dry gravy mix which helped it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Tender and tasty. The advantage of slow-cooking being you can put it together and walk away. The sauce is particularly good-especially if you are a "gravy loving" kind of person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
Very tender. I made it in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
I ALWAYS have left over coffee, so I tried this out on the family and everyone liked it. I did, however, spice it up a little bit as I tasted it durring cooking. I used stew beef; added a few seasonings, some worchestershire sauce, and beef bullion, along with a few cups of extra water... for I boiled noodles right in with it at the end... I did not need to thicken it. I served sour cream at the table to save on calories. I will play with this recipe some more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
The sauce has a strong, overpowering coffee flavor, and overall it is very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
My family loved this roast. 5 hours is a long time but it just sits there and cooks. My child didn't care for the sour cream but she ate it anyway which says a lot for the dish. A definite cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States