Coffee Roasted Beef Chuck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
The meat had good flavor and was tender but it was sooo greasy (due I'm sure to the cut of meat) and was quite bland! Will probably not make again because there are lots of other ways to cook a roast that we like better. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I was also skeptical of the coffee addition. I loosely followed what kimshin2000 did-added water,soy sauce, thyme and oregano, as I did not have beef broth or any wine (terrible situation!) It reduced so nicely that I decided we really didn't need the calories of the sour cream-it thickened into a very rich, flavorful gravy. Thank you for the idea-I will be toying with this one again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This was an amazing recipe. I was curious but skeptical about using coffee, but it turned out to be great. I used one and half cup of espresso (about 6-7 shots?) plus two cups of water. I didn't have any beef broth or buillon, so to enhance flavor, I added fresh rosemary, thyme, some cajun seasoning, one plus cup of red wine, and about two tablespoon of soysauce. I had to cook it for about four hours, and the meat was tender and ready to go. Coffee seems to have given the meat a earthy, almost gamy flavor. I served it at a small dinner party, all my friends thought it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Delicious. Very moist and flavorful. Followed suggestions on reducing amount of coffee to 4 cups and adding 2 cups of water. My husband and I really enjoyed this. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This pot roast had little flavor. I expected the juice to taste like coffee and beef but it really just tasted like mushroomy water. I had to doctor it up with Schillings beef gravy mix (6 Tablespoons did the trick). It also was very dry and tough but that may have been my cut of beef. I still have to give this just one star because pot roast is generally pretty easy to make yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This recipe was wonderful! Very flavorful and easy! I followed the tips from the other reviewers and added beef broth, red wine and less coffee (but very strong coffee) and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Yummy, I used a chuck "steak" it was only about a pound or two, I only used a cup and a half of coffee, and 2 cups water and 2 buillion cubes. I seasoned the meat first with spike and emerils stuff, and pepper. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAMRF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
The only change I made was to add a couple of beef bouillon cubes in addition to the full amount of coffee. This was wonderful over noodles, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
My question is this: Why in the heck would you make this if you don't like coffee? That aside. this is what I did: I used Cafe Bustella, a Puerto Rican Espresso (make it very, very strong). Everything else was akin to the recipe but I did add some Cabernet Sauvigon at the beginning, as well as beef broth. As a side dish, I scraped some white corn off the cob and made cream corn, also served some homemade cole slaw. Every bit of this was excellent. Thanks! And by the way, play around with this recipe as nothing is written in stone. Be brave coffee lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I wasn't sure about this recipe because of the coffee, but I am so happy that I tried it. After reading the reviews I knew to make some changes so I also cut the coffee down to 4 cups and added two cups of beef broth. I also added some Montreal Steak Seasoning and salt for that extra zing. The roast completely fell apart it was so tender, in fact I almost couldn't turn it over without it breaking apart at the halfway point. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States