Coffee Roasted Beef Chuck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Judging from the fact that when I got to the dish at pot luck, it was empty, I think this must have been a pretty good recipe. I'm glad I tasted it before I took it. It was great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
As a coffee lover, I thought I'd like this, but the coffee flavor was much to strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This was a wonderful recipe. My family was very interested when I first told them about it and once we tried it, it became our new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelley868

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I'm giving this recipe three stars because it seemed bland to me, however I only used one and a half cups of Starbucks' Italian Roast coffee (I'm the only coffee drinker in the house)and the rest of the liquid was beef bouillon. Next time I'll add more coffee and some herbs----but here's a tip: I layered 3 sirloin steaks on top of each other because that's what I had on hand, and it cooked beautifully in the crock pot for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Since so many reviewers said this recipe was bland, I added 1t Durkee Steak Seasoning; 1/2t ea cajun seasoning & rosemary; 1/4t ea thyme, red pepper flakes & cayenne; then 3/4c red wine & 1/4c soy sauce in place of the 6th cup of coffee(almost all of the other reviewers' recommendations!). I simmered it for 2.5 hrs & when I went to turn it over, I tested it -- it was already past done & getting dry, so 5 hrs would have been way too long! No one else complained of this. We couldn't eat it the night I cooked it, so I put the broth in the frig separate from the meat. The next day, the grease was in a firm layer on the top, so I separated it off. When I made the gravy, I just used a small portion of the grease (one reviewer said this recipe was too greasy). For me, the gravy was very tasty, but much too concentrated. I think that next time I will follow JIHI's recommendation to put in 2c less coffee & add 2c water. I rarely cook chuck roast because it is not a good cut & I don't have luck cooking roasts. However, in spite of it already being a little dry, I must say the meat was wonderfully tender & was excellent with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was really good and the meat came out very tender. I used chuck steak as that is what I had on hand, added potatoes carrots & celery near the end. Great one pot meal. Growing up in the south with my grandmother & greatgrandmother as the primary cooks...a quick way to "beef up" a gravy was (and still is for me) to add a tsp of instant coffee. Gives a very slow-cooked, rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Stafford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Made this a stew by adding carrots in the last hour, and dicing up the beef. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
My husband and children LOVED this roast. Who would have thought that coffee would taste so good on beef!? I have made this several times and have even altered the recipe somewhat, and it still turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I added oregano, rosemary, and thyme as well as a generous amount of Worcestershire and we still thought this was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This was definitely a 10 in our family book! We're not coffee drinkers; it was mostly out of curiosity that I tried the recipe. I usually read all the reviews but didn't this time...I was just looking for a chuck roast recipe for which I had all the ingredients! Instead of using less coffee, I used MORE because my coffee maker is 10 cups, and I figured I'd just get a little more gravy. Reading the reviews, later, and hearing it was rather a strong coffee flavor, it was a little scary since we don't drink coffee. I added 2 Lipton Onion Mushroom Soup Mix packets to balance out the coffee and some thick sliced potatoes and baby carrots to round out the dish. At the end, the taste was DELLICIOUS! There was SO MUCH gravy however, that, after I removed the meat and vegetables, thickened the gravy and added the sour cream, I added some couscous to the gravy. I used 2 5.45 oz boxes (less the flavor packets, of course) and, while it was quite a bit thicker than we would have preferred, it was absolutely wonderful! I think I'll make it again this weekend to take to my parent's home for Father's Day! Thanks for a winner, Luella...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States