Coffee Roasted Beef Chuck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Sorry, this recipe was a bust. I'm going to stick to DRINKING my coffee and braising my chuck in salsa/brown sugar/soy sauce/garlic/lemon and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This sounded interesting with the coffee so I had to try it. My husband and I decided it was okay, the meat was very tender, but not the burst of extra flavor I was expecting. I made it as written except for deleting the butter since I had a new non stick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle David Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I am a vegetarian, but I have made this twice for company. It is so easy and I always get rave reviews. It cooks in about half the recommended time. I always test with a meat thermometer. And I serve it with mashed potatoes and sourdough bread. I originally chose this recipe because I did not own a dutch oven. I have since purchased one, but I still use this recipe because it's so simple and everyone always loves it. My guests took a copy of the recipe home with them last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Didn't like it will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I followed this to the "T" and My husband loved it. Ask to take leftovers in his lunch the next day. He never ask that on my cooking night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
my kids hated it! I'm not sure if my coffee was too strong or if I did something wrong, but it didn't turn out so well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharliGurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I had really high hopes for this recipe b/c the aroma in my house while it was cooking was to die for, but I really did not think it was that great. Enough people have made this with good results so I'm not sure why mine turned out like it did. I only had a 2 lb roast so I halved everything and only cooked it for 1 1/2 hours, and it was done, but it was a little tough. My kids liked the meat but were otherwise not wild about it. I might try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I want to give this a better review, but I ran into a problem when I got to the gravy part and realized I had way too much liquid to make a thick gravy. I haven't made gravy on my own or this way before, so I tested a small amount of the liquid and proportioned it down... only to get soup. I *think* I was supposed to cook it uncovered. I noticed in the recipe it never said to cover it, but I assumed since a slow cooker works with a cover, then I should cover it. I will try it again sometime uncovered. Luckily I had enough liquid left to make a decent skillet gravy from another recipe. Some specification as to whether the pot should be covered would improve this recipe for people like me who have never cooked a roast before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was a brilliant idea. I was looking for a way to make my chuck roast without beef stock since I didn't have any in the house. I only made a few changes. I had already seasoned my roast yesterday with a mixture of a seasoning mixture I keep in a jar that consists of salt, garlic powder, black pepper, paprika, onion powder and dried parsley. After I sauteed the onioons I added more of the seasoning to the onions (left out the fresh garlic)and let them sautee for another minute. Then I added the roast back in and splashed it with some Worcestershire. I then added the coffee, all 6 cups made a little strong. I added about 1/4 cup ketchup for a little sweetness. It came out fantastic! The very last thing I did different was add a roux. I didn't have sour cream so I did this instead. Yummy! The family loved it. The only reason I gave it 4 and not 5 stars is because I changed the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA
Living In: Wrightwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
EXCELLENT!! The first time I made this recipe I followed the directions to the letter. It was great. The second time I made it I added more sour cream and a few more veggies. And it is still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States