Coffee Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
We loved this recipe for all its simplicity, it was flavorful and rocked the next day as sandwiches! I used a really nice premium dark roast coffee, seasoned the chuck roast with salt/pepper prior to searing. I'm going to try this next time in the slow cooker as I'm not usually comfortable leaving the stove on for that long of time (toddler in the house!) and will try this in a dutch oven as well. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I thought this recipe was great. I made the coffee as strong as I drink it, which is fairly strong. I also used the suggestion of onion soup and cream of mushroom soup. That may be the reason I did not taste the coffee. I did sear the roast well then cooked on low for two hours, hours after which I finished cooking in a pressure cooker for 40 minutes. It was very, very good. Very tender, moist and full of favor. I used half of the juice in the pressure cooker, then steamed broccoli with the rest.this is a definite "use again" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
We did not like this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
The roast was very tender but no lavor or taste????. maybe i cooked to long??? I used a sirloin tip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
OVERALL WAS A GOOD RECIPE. MY 11 YEAR OLD DID NOT CARE FOR THE COFFEE TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Not sure what to say about this. It was not inedible, but thankfully I used pretty weak coffee. I could taste too much burnt-coffee flavor. Thanks, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Well, the meat was tender. The gravy was nothing i would do again. Ever. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
Yipes. No, no, no, no, no. No. NO. Coffee--good. Meat--good. Coffee AND meat--No. NO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This recipe was fantastic! Not only did my children love it, my husband can't seem to stop talking about it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMLOVESTOBAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
I made this roast the other night. Perhaps because we drink Starbucks coffee, I found the coffee flavor overpowering in the dish, and did not really care for it. My husband has been eating the leftovers, but I can't really bring myself to do that. I made it with a side of brown rice, which we don't really care for either, so part of my dislike about the roast is actually due to that. I will look for a different roast recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States