Coffee Mug Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was so easy and tasted pretty good. I made it without the topping. I actually liked the dense and moist consistency of the cake due to being microwaved. I was looking for a super quick pastry recipe to use when my fruit salad turned juicier than I wanted it to (so I used it as a topping), and it was perfect topped with the berries. If I were to just eat this cake by itself, I would add a little more vanilla next time. I doubled the recipe and made it in a bowl; it worked great. Thank you, Adastra808.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I made this as a lemon cake which is my favorite. I omitted the cinnamon and brown sugar and substituted 1 tablespoon sugar instead. What a wonderful addition to my 1 serving recipes collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for One

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I really love this idea. I added a couple drops of lemon extract and omitted the topping, replacing it with a sprinkle of powdered sugar. I am surprised at how tasty this was, if a bit chewy. Okay, very chewy, but the taste and the fact that I had a piece of cake to eat five minutes after reading this recipe more than make up for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Followed recipe as written; too sweet and a bit rubbery. Not crazy about the flavor; cinnamon too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PW1234

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
The best mug cake recipe I have tried. Only sub was to use yogurt instead of sour cream and did not have vanilla extract so left out. Just the right amount for a sweet treat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Not bad. It's a mug cake, so not as good as the real thing, but close enough. I have made it a few times. I added cinnamon and nutmeg, and recently tried adding a few chocolate chips to the batter and liked it overall. I nixed the topping altogether and instead made a quick cream cheese frosting to put on top. Would have been good with or without the frosting. Over cooking made it dry. Does have a wet appearance even if it is done, so use the toothpick method. Can eat straight out of mug or plate it for a different look. Great when you are the only cake lover in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Super rubbery...and yet dry at the same time, incredibly bland, and all in all unsatisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I doubled the recipe and put it in a medium bowl. Very very good - and easy. Definitely satisfied my craving for a coffee cake - and I don't have to worry about eating an entire coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
it was so good...came out so nicely....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I've made this recipe several times and can conclude that is better with sour cream, but if you don't have that on hand cream cheese works great or use a whole egg and a splash of milk. This recipe could also be improved upon by using 2 tbsp. butter instead of 1. My personal favorite part of this recipe is by far the topping and I have found that it is delicious on toast just use margarine instead of butter and 2 tbsp. instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States