Coffee Mug Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I really love this idea. I added a couple drops of lemon extract and omitted the topping, replacing it with a sprinkle of powdered sugar. I am surprised at how tasty this was, if a bit chewy. Okay, very chewy, but the taste and the fact that I had a piece of cake to eat five minutes after reading this recipe more than make up for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Followed recipe as written; too sweet and a bit rubbery. Not crazy about the flavor; cinnamon too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PW1234

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
The best mug cake recipe I have tried. Only sub was to use yogurt instead of sour cream and did not have vanilla extract so left out. Just the right amount for a sweet treat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Not bad. It's a mug cake, so not as good as the real thing, but close enough. I have made it a few times. I added cinnamon and nutmeg, and recently tried adding a few chocolate chips to the batter and liked it overall. I nixed the topping altogether and instead made a quick cream cheese frosting to put on top. Would have been good with or without the frosting. Over cooking made it dry. Does have a wet appearance even if it is done, so use the toothpick method. Can eat straight out of mug or plate it for a different look. Great when you are the only cake lover in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Super rubbery...and yet dry at the same time, incredibly bland, and all in all unsatisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I doubled the recipe and put it in a medium bowl. Very very good - and easy. Definitely satisfied my craving for a coffee cake - and I don't have to worry about eating an entire coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
it was so good...came out so nicely....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I've made this recipe several times and can conclude that is better with sour cream, but if you don't have that on hand cream cheese works great or use a whole egg and a splash of milk. This recipe could also be improved upon by using 2 tbsp. butter instead of 1. My personal favorite part of this recipe is by far the topping and I have found that it is delicious on toast just use margarine instead of butter and 2 tbsp. instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
We made this when the kids were craving something sweet and we were low on groceries. We didn't even have an egg! We made an egg substitute (flour, oil, water, baking soda) substituted cream cheese and a little extra butter for the sour cream, and skipped the topping altogether. We doubled the recipe and split it into 3 mugs. Cooked each mug individually for 1.5 minutes. The kids said it was a little burned on the bottom. Keep in mind what another reviewer said about the "wet" appearance around the edges...perhaps that's not an indication it's undercooked. Five stars since we didn't have the right ingredients, so it wouldn't be fair to drop stars. The kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xray Sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
The eggs all went to the bottom. I didn't care for it, except for the crumb topping. I might make that by its self..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States