Coffee Mug Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was a very good recipe. I didn't have sour cream, so I just used 1 whole egg instead of a half of one. Also, I substituted Pamela's gluten free all purpose flour for the regular flour. Fantastic flavor and texture! Especially for a gluten free cake. I think I will try mixing in the brown sugar and cinnamon topping next time though, because with the GF flour it was a little floury tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
We made this when the kids were craving something sweet and we were low on groceries. We didn't even have an egg! We made an egg substitute (flour, oil, water, baking soda) substituted cream cheese and a little extra butter for the sour cream, and skipped the topping altogether. We doubled the recipe and split it into 3 mugs. Cooked each mug individually for 1.5 minutes. The kids said it was a little burned on the bottom. Keep in mind what another reviewer said about the "wet" appearance around the edges...perhaps that's not an indication it's undercooked. Five stars since we didn't have the right ingredients, so it wouldn't be fair to drop stars. The kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xray Sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was a fun recipe! Perfect for the nights you crave cake but dont feel like baking one. I didnt have any brown sugar so I just skipped the 2nd part of the recipe all together. It wasnt bad! Still worth five stars. I never liked frosting so this turned out perfect. I wouldnt say it was on the rubbery side like one review stated. More like bouncey? Its a microwave cake what do you expect? I saved the other half of my egg cause im going to make another one later. Next time one of my kids has a sleep over im going to show this one off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I've made this recipe several times and can conclude that is better with sour cream, but if you don't have that on hand cream cheese works great or use a whole egg and a splash of milk. This recipe could also be improved upon by using 2 tbsp. butter instead of 1. My personal favorite part of this recipe is by far the topping and I have found that it is delicious on toast just use margarine instead of butter and 2 tbsp. instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This is a great recipe. I followed it exactly and it came out delicious. I used all whole wheat flour, I didnt have white flour. Also, I put it in the mircowave for a total of 2 minutes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kaicenhour
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Great recipe! I did it just as the recipe read except I didn't have sour cream so I used cream cheese... mine was a tad dry bc of it so definitely stick to sour cream. (the picture is of my final product) :) Tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Wow! I was really surprised by how this turned out. So quick, easy, and soooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Awesome! Turned out great and will make again the next time I need a quick fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is so fast and easy it's dangerous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine444

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Yum! I used whole wheat flour, cut back on a little of the white sugar, and added a few dashes of cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves to the cake part. Definitely rely on a toothpick, because if you have a clear mug, it still looks a little wet through the side even when it's not. I think I'll try it with cocoa next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States