Coffee Mug Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Super rubbery...and yet dry at the same time, incredibly bland, and all in all unsatisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I doubled the recipe and put it in a medium bowl. Very very good - and easy. Definitely satisfied my craving for a coffee cake - and I don't have to worry about eating an entire coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
it was so good...came out so nicely....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I've made this recipe several times and can conclude that is better with sour cream, but if you don't have that on hand cream cheese works great or use a whole egg and a splash of milk. This recipe could also be improved upon by using 2 tbsp. butter instead of 1. My personal favorite part of this recipe is by far the topping and I have found that it is delicious on toast just use margarine instead of butter and 2 tbsp. instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
We made this when the kids were craving something sweet and we were low on groceries. We didn't even have an egg! We made an egg substitute (flour, oil, water, baking soda) substituted cream cheese and a little extra butter for the sour cream, and skipped the topping altogether. We doubled the recipe and split it into 3 mugs. Cooked each mug individually for 1.5 minutes. The kids said it was a little burned on the bottom. Keep in mind what another reviewer said about the "wet" appearance around the edges...perhaps that's not an indication it's undercooked. Five stars since we didn't have the right ingredients, so it wouldn't be fair to drop stars. The kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xray Sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
The eggs all went to the bottom. I didn't care for it, except for the crumb topping. I might make that by its self..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
As written, it seems a little eggy/rubbery as other reviewers have stated. With a tablespoon less sour cream and approx. 1/3 of an egg instead, the second mug cake was better. We will keep playing around with it because we like the concept. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was a fun recipe! Perfect for the nights you crave cake but dont feel like baking one. I didnt have any brown sugar so I just skipped the 2nd part of the recipe all together. It wasnt bad! Still worth five stars. I never liked frosting so this turned out perfect. I wouldnt say it was on the rubbery side like one review stated. More like bouncey? Its a microwave cake what do you expect? I saved the other half of my egg cause im going to make another one later. Next time one of my kids has a sleep over im going to show this one off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was a very good recipe. I didn't have sour cream, so I just used 1 whole egg instead of a half of one. Also, I substituted Pamela's gluten free all purpose flour for the regular flour. Fantastic flavor and texture! Especially for a gluten free cake. I think I will try mixing in the brown sugar and cinnamon topping next time though, because with the GF flour it was a little floury tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
It was just ok for us.....a lil time consuming for something that was just alright. I do like the mug concept though and have made other similar recipes that were very good. I did like the crumb topping...I just thought the cake was a bit too "eggy" tasting for me. But thanks for a creative recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States