Coffee Liqueur Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I make this recipe every year for the holidays. Having made it for a number of years now I have a few suggestions. First of all using 2 cups brown sugar and 2 cups white gives a more complex sweetness. Also I add 1/2 cup cocoa powder for a chocolate finish. Also you get a better coffee flavor when using espresso instead of coffee granules. And lastly I split the alcohol into 2 cups vodka and 2 cups brandy. Brandy complements the flavors better than straight vodka. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2000
I've been using this recipe for years. At times I've run out of ingredients and have substituted with poor results. I always come back to this recipe for excellent results, simplicity and a good kahlua substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I've been using a similar recipe for years as Christmas gifts, and it is always appreciated. We love to serve it over ice cream, or mixed in milk. I even put about 1/2 cup in chili con carne. My recipe only uses 2 cups boiling water and a pint of brandy or vodka. Instead of the vanilla extract I use a vanilla bean cut in half and added to two clean bottles. It then sits for 60 days. This recipe is quicker to the finished product, but I still prefer the "fermenting" process. The recipe was given to me by an Army nurse at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas in 1966.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Very simple, very quick, I added a splash more vanilla to smooth the coffee flavor some. I will make this every year for gifts! Taste wonderful with quite a kick. I used a lower grade vodka, no reason at all to break the bank!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonya511

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This recipe is just FABULOUS...I have tried many kahlua/coffee liqueur recipes and this one is by far the BEST!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
The best recipe for kahlua I've tried. The coffee flavor comes out very bold and smooth. Much richer than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
On a whim I decided to whip this up, very nervous at how it would turn out. I was very pleasantly surprised. I cut the recipe in half and just used the cheapest vodka I could find. This still made enough to fill an empty wine bottle and then some! It is very tasty but I am going to let it sit for a month and see how good it is then. I really like that this doesn't call for a vanilla bean b/c I was going to use one until I found out how much they cost. OUCH! Just make sure and use real vanilla extract, not imitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This recipe is fantastic! My daughter bought a bottle of kahlua not knowing I made this recipe for the holidays. Our family agreed this recipe much better than store boughten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
WOW! That was some powerful stuff, but enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was delicious! Much better than Kahlua. I made it as Xmas gifts and bottled it in beautiful bottles I got fom Pier One- it was a huge hit! I used a cheap bottle of vodka with no ill-effects.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Coffee Nudge

Hot coffee with three types of liqueur warms you from the inside out.

Mexican Coffee

Watch a professional bartender mix up a Mexican coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States