Coffee Liqueur Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I make this recipe every year for the holidays. Having made it for a number of years now I have a few suggestions. First of all using 2 cups brown sugar and 2 cups white gives a more complex sweetness. Also I add 1/2 cup cocoa powder for a chocolate finish. Also you get a better coffee flavor when using espresso instead of coffee granules. And lastly I split the alcohol into 2 cups vodka and 2 cups brandy. Brandy complements the flavors better than straight vodka. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2000
I've been using this recipe for years. At times I've run out of ingredients and have substituted with poor results. I always come back to this recipe for excellent results, simplicity and a good kahlua substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I've been using a similar recipe for years as Christmas gifts, and it is always appreciated. We love to serve it over ice cream, or mixed in milk. I even put about 1/2 cup in chili con carne. My recipe only uses 2 cups boiling water and a pint of brandy or vodka. Instead of the vanilla extract I use a vanilla bean cut in half and added to two clean bottles. It then sits for 60 days. This recipe is quicker to the finished product, but I still prefer the "fermenting" process. The recipe was given to me by an Army nurse at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas in 1966.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Very simple, very quick, I added a splash more vanilla to smooth the coffee flavor some. I will make this every year for gifts! Taste wonderful with quite a kick. I used a lower grade vodka, no reason at all to break the bank!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonya511

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This recipe is just FABULOUS...I have tried many kahlua/coffee liqueur recipes and this one is by far the BEST!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
The best recipe for kahlua I've tried. The coffee flavor comes out very bold and smooth. Much richer than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
On a whim I decided to whip this up, very nervous at how it would turn out. I was very pleasantly surprised. I cut the recipe in half and just used the cheapest vodka I could find. This still made enough to fill an empty wine bottle and then some! It is very tasty but I am going to let it sit for a month and see how good it is then. I really like that this doesn't call for a vanilla bean b/c I was going to use one until I found out how much they cost. OUCH! Just make sure and use real vanilla extract, not imitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This recipe is fantastic! My daughter bought a bottle of kahlua not knowing I made this recipe for the holidays. Our family agreed this recipe much better than store boughten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I used brewed coffee instead of the water and added 1/2 cup of cocoa powder. Delicious! Rich, creamy & decadent! I'm giving this as Holiday gifts this year and I'm re-using Grolsch beer bottles with the resealable lids to gift this in. Can't wait! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
WOW! That was some powerful stuff, but enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Coffee Nudge

Hot coffee with three types of liqueur warms you from the inside out.

Mexican Coffee

Watch a professional bartender mix up a Mexican coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States