Coffee Liqueur Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
These were OK but I prefer my present recipe that has 2 whole eggs, double the sugar(they're not too sweet!), and 6 tablespoons butter. The coffee powder and liqueur don't flavor as much as they enhance the chocolate, which is certainly not a bad thing! I also found it easier to mix everything in the separate bowl that I melted the chocolate and butter in. I get better mixing of ingredients and can then pour into a lightly greased pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I will be making these again! They were so easy. I love coffee so I used 2T of the instant coffee and I did disolve in in about 1T of water before adding it. I also took the advice and melted the chocolate in a separte sauce pan, but then I mixed the rest of the ing. in the same pan and then transfered to the baking pan. 20 min was perfect in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This was my first time making brownies, so maybe I did something wrong, but they didn't come out very well. I added a lot more coffee and Kahlua than the recipe called for, and you could still NOT taste a coffee taste. It tasted like chocolate though. They came out slightly dry and crisp on top, and like previous reviewers I think there was too little batter for the pan. I also melted the butter and chocolate in the micorwave, which worked just fine. I'll try to find a better recipe next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I thought they were o.k, but nothing to rave about...I definitely would not make them again, and am not going to serve them at the luncheon. I will search for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Excellent brownies, and the best thing is, they're not overly sweet like many brownies tend to be. Following other reviews, I added 3 tbsps of coffee liqeur, and next time may even add more. I did melt the chocolate in another bowl, just seemed to be easier. All in all, good recipe and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Scrumptious!! You have to try these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Delicious. Don't do what I did, though, and decide that there wasn't enough batter and make it in a small loaf tin. Took twice as long to bake. I can imagine they would be small in the size stated so maybe if you have a tin that's slightly smaller...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
The brownie tastes good BUT it was tremendously oily at the base. I didn't have any butter so substituted it for margarine instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Quite a nice taste, but very small! Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
After the first bite, my husband pronounced these "the best brownies I've ever eaten!" I took previous suggestions and used 3 tbsp. Irish Creme for the liqueur; I also used a separate bowl and melted the chocolate & butter in the microwave. Soooo good, especially when still warm and gooey from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States