Coffee Liqueur Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
These were OK but I prefer my present recipe that has 2 whole eggs, double the sugar(they're not too sweet!), and 6 tablespoons butter. The coffee powder and liqueur don't flavor as much as they enhance the chocolate, which is certainly not a bad thing! I also found it easier to mix everything in the separate bowl that I melted the chocolate and butter in. I get better mixing of ingredients and can then pour into a lightly greased pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I will be making these again! They were so easy. I love coffee so I used 2T of the instant coffee and I did disolve in in about 1T of water before adding it. I also took the advice and melted the chocolate in a separte sauce pan, but then I mixed the rest of the ing. in the same pan and then transfered to the baking pan. 20 min was perfect in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This was my first time making brownies, so maybe I did something wrong, but they didn't come out very well. I added a lot more coffee and Kahlua than the recipe called for, and you could still NOT taste a coffee taste. It tasted like chocolate though. They came out slightly dry and crisp on top, and like previous reviewers I think there was too little batter for the pan. I also melted the butter and chocolate in the micorwave, which worked just fine. I'll try to find a better recipe next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I thought they were o.k, but nothing to rave about...I definitely would not make them again, and am not going to serve them at the luncheon. I will search for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Excellent brownies, and the best thing is, they're not overly sweet like many brownies tend to be. Following other reviews, I added 3 tbsps of coffee liqeur, and next time may even add more. I did melt the chocolate in another bowl, just seemed to be easier. All in all, good recipe and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Scrumptious!! You have to try these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Delicious. Don't do what I did, though, and decide that there wasn't enough batter and make it in a small loaf tin. Took twice as long to bake. I can imagine they would be small in the size stated so maybe if you have a tin that's slightly smaller...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
The brownie tastes good BUT it was tremendously oily at the base. I didn't have any butter so substituted it for margarine instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Quite a nice taste, but very small! Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
After the first bite, my husband pronounced these "the best brownies I've ever eaten!" I took previous suggestions and used 3 tbsp. Irish Creme for the liqueur; I also used a separate bowl and melted the chocolate & butter in the microwave. Soooo good, especially when still warm and gooey from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States