Coffee Liqueur Bread Pudding with Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I followed this recipe pretty closely, except I used 3/4 C coffee liqueur instead of 1 C, but it was still too much. Next time, I'll use 1/2 C as suggested by others. I also put the cinnamon and sugar mixture into the egg mixture instead of sprinkling it on top. Cut the coffee liqueur in half, and this recipe is great with a scoop of vanilla icecream and a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
I used about 12 ounces of bread, but wish I would have done 16. It was definitely custardy. The caramel sauce was fabulous. I added pecans and cherries in the middles and then some more pecans on top of the cinnamon/sugar layer and beneath the caramel layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Just for an FYI... Starbucks now makes at Coffee Liqueur that is new to the market in 2005. It's called Starbucks Coffee Liqueur and is 40 proof and made with 100% real Starbucks houseblend coffee. It is really awesome and much, much better than Kahlua. Kahlua is poor in comparison. I bet if you made it with the SCL this recipe would be a knockout hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
This bread pudding is incredible. As far as I'm concerned, bread pudding ALWAYS needs some sort of alcohol in it. Usually though, the bread pudding I get is pretty plain and needs a rum or whiskey sauce to kick it up, but this bread pudding had the flavor of the coffee liqueur all throughout the pudding. I did put about 12 ounces of bread, though, and I think it would've been soupy without the extra bread (hence the 4 stars instead of 5). Overall, it was incredible and I will definitely make it again. PS - Used an off-brand coffee liqueur and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
I adapted this recipe to make in a slow cooker - much less time consuming for me on Christmas day. I reduced the amount of Kahlua as suggested by others (and doubled the amount of bread). However, maybe because I made it in the slow cooker, it really wasn't very strong at all, and I would have preferred the extra Kahlua.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
This was awesome! If following the recipe as written, I would NOT serve it to folks who don't drink (or to kids). I used dried cranberries - you can find those and dried cherries with the trail mixes / dried fruits at the grocery store. The 2nd time I made this, I made lots of adjustments, based on other reviews, and was glad I changed things. I made it in a 3-qt dish, and used 12 oz. of bread (no need to toss with butter - my other bread pudding recipes don't have that step), added pecans AND dried cranberries (wow!!), and 1/2 cup coffee liqueur (perfect amount, even if serving to non-drinkers). I used only enough of the sugar-cinnamon combination to cover the dish (didn't want to add too much sweetness). Also note that skim milk works fine. Outstanding results!! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
This recipe is great!! I double the bread though. Also when I was out of coffee liquor I substituted rum (dark rum works best) but only about 1/2-3/4 of a cup b/c otherwise it is too strong. Make up the rest of the liquid with more milk. Everytime I go to a pot luck I am asked to bring my bread pudding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I loved it! I hate coffee flavor of any sort, but we used Mocha Caramel liqueur and it was great. Definitely use 16 oz. of bread, otherwise it would be way too soggy. But be sure to use a bigger pan... it expands as it cooks. I'd also leave out the cinnamon sugar layer; it's more than sweet enough with the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I'm confused as to how this is getting a five star rating from anyone. Great idea, but it's waaaay to soggy. If your going to make this, take the advice from the person that used a 16 oz loaf of bread AND use much less Kaluha. It was way too strong using a cup. Soggy is an understatement -- if you follow the directions the way they are stated, your bread pudding will be more like an alcoholic bread soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
One cup of Kahlua is way too much--the dessert exudes alcohol fumes when served....I don't know if that's in error, or if others expect that in their food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States