Coffee Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I gave this 5 stars because it really is a good base for icing. I made almond butter cream icing and it was delicious! I just substituted 3 Tablespoons of milk instead of the coffee and added 1 1/2 teaspoons of almond extract. For the coffee icing, I substituted 2 teaspoons of instant coffee (which dissolves quickly) for the brewed coffee and kept the vanilla extract the same recommendation in this recipe and I also added the 3 Tablespoons of milk. And then for mocha icing do the same with the instant coffee and milk substitution and then add 2 Tablespoons of cocoa. Of course you can add more or less instant coffee and/or cocoa to suit your taste. Double the recipe for good amount of icing on cupcakes. *I do like a cherry flavor in my mocha so I do use almond extract instead of vanilla for the mocha icing. I read other reviews where the icing is runny, but for me, it was perfect in thick spreading consistency for cupcakes and cake. Even using the brewed coffee, just make sure it is not hot and beat in the tablespoons of the brewed coffee one at a time. That helps for me with the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brizzb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I made the recipe exactly the first time and it was a bit runny for my liking. The second time I omitted the vanilla (you don't miss it) and the consistency was right. Both times the strong-brewed coffee (from our French press) flavor came through. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I love this icing, I use it on a gluten free chocolate cake mix (Pamela's) and it is so moist. It tastes just like a regular flour cake with this icing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Use less coffee or it gets really runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I didn't get a lot of the coffee flavor. It was exceptionally sweet. I may need to adjust that a bit next time. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Double the recipe if you want enough for a double layer round cake, and even then it is barely enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This did not turn out well for me at all. It was too gritty, too sweet, and wasn't smooth at all. I followed the directions precisely but I could not get this recipe to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
used this on a coffee cake and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have used this recipe over bundt cakes for years! I add Kahlua and instant coffee for a stronger flavor if you want to, if not, the recipe as is turns out really good! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States