Coffee Date Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I reduced the sugar to 1/3 c soft brown sugar because I read some reviews saying this was quite sweet and wanted something not too sweet. Its taste is great because the coffee comes through and it is not too sweet, but the texture was very tough on the day. It was great the next day though. I may have over-mixed, or maybe it was because I used margarine. I also did not find it as moist as everyone else. I may make it exactly as per the recipe and give it one more shot (got lots of dates at home at the moment and would like something healthy, not puddings)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
It was good. Made exactly as recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
My husband's word for this bread was "scrumptious"! I wasn't sure if my baking soda was "young" enough so I added 1 tsp. baking powder. I'm picky about my date nut bread and this is the best I've tasted. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SanDiKat2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
A very good bread. I made it on Christmas Eve and we have 2 pieces left. I am hiding these pieces for Christmas morning breakfast for myself(don't tell anyone). I totally enjoyed this bread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Delicious! I used splenda because I am watching my calories; didn't think it would come out but it did, and it was wonderful. I didn't have pecans, so I used chopped walnuts. Excellent. Husband loves it! I will always be making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Very yummy and moist! Will probably use espresso next time to have more coffee taste, but that is just a preference. Definately good as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This is really good! I used almonds since I didn't have pecans, and I threw in a little molasses in place of some of the sugar. House smells wonderrrrful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Jacobsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Unique and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Well Done!! I serve brunches for an assisted living group, and they reved about this bread. Very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl40

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very good! Looks great, dates are delicious. Very runny when pouring it into the pan, and for me took just over an hour to bake, but the result was very well received by all! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States