Coffee Cooler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I followed the recipe as written and we thought that it was a really nice cold coffee drink (especially on a hot afternoon when caffeine is needed/wanted). For the banana: I believe it is used more for a sweetener and a thickener then it is for flavour because you can’t really taste it. ( I used one over ripe banana. ) I also used cold refrigerated leftover coffee. We all thought this drink had the perfect amount of sweetness to it. The coffee, hot chocolate & banana combined together very well to please our tastes. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Not bad, but not really what I'd call a 'shake.' I kept all measurements the same except that I used 1 cup of coffee and 1 cup of milk. It tasted pretty good and had a nice 'foaminess' on top...the banana wasn't too strong, so don't worry about that. Like I said, this really wasn't a shake in consistency...I'm thinking that it would actually taste best if you simply blend all ingredients (expect the ice) then pour the mixture of crushed ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
The banana I used was probably too ripe because the banana taste was way too strong. I even used a 1.25oz pouch of cocoa mix and added another tablespoon Sugar. It was still alright, but next time I'll either half or eliminate the banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Didn't use bananas and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
It was okay. Not very cold, even though I used extra ice cubes. I make my own Frapu... type thing and it's a lot better. Banana and coffee go GREAT together, though. I use it my frozen version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamraarruda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Irwin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This recipe was just okay. I scaled this down to a one person serving. I omitted the banana, as I don't like banana-flavored coffee and I added a concentrated shot of coffee. I also subbed almond extract for the vanilla. I'm not big on the dry hot cocoa mix added to the coffee. I'd rather just stick to using chocolate syrup. Other than that, it was okay. Not real sure I'd make it again. I was just looking for a quick pick-me-up recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
A great summer cool down! I used vanilla frozen yougert instead of ice cubes to thicken it up a little the second time I made it, and loved it. Either way, its a great shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I ironically made a similar drink like this today. I'm diabetic so I used 2-3 packets of Equal. I also omitted the banana. Was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I couldn't really taste the coffee or the banana in this. It was kind of more like a semi-bland chocolate drink. I did scale the recipe down to two servings with the calculate button. For the hot cocoa I used a spoonful of Ovaltine. I used a frozen banana, because I keep them in the freezer for smoothies. I also subbed the sugar for a packet of Truvia for the 2 servings I made. I did like that it was only 80 calories. Plus, using the ovaltine it added in vitamins and it was icy cold. I did never think to put coffee and banana together so that was interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Pretty good, but more like an "iced mocha" as opposed to "milkshake". I filled a glass with ice & poured it over the ice and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandalin84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Gunline Coffee

This winter coffee mixture features hot cocoa mix and holiday seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States