Coffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2000
I thought that maybe they could use a bit more sugar, but even so, they were great! My whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
wow,yummy is all i can say. I didn't add any nuts but they were yummy. will addbnuts and make some more for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Getrude Polah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made these today and was a bit worried they wouldn't come out well, judging by some other reviews, but to my delight they turned out absolutely delicious! I read the comments and changed the ingredients accordingly, using 1 tsp vanilla extract instead of 1/2, 1 cup flour instead of 3/4, 1/2 cup margarine instead of shortening, and 1/2 cup chocolate chips instead of nuts, as well as baking for 8 minutes. There didn't appear to be much batter in the bowl so I wondered how many it would actually make, and it was very, very moist (probably because I melted my butter). I rolled them into balls with my hands as I like to do, though I made them small and widely spaced apart in case they flattened. They actually didn't flatten at all! And because I used small bits of batter to begin with I found out they puff up quite a lot, so you could get more cookies if you used less batter. All up it made about 20 cookies, so still not a whole lot but a decent amount. The coffee grounds give a sort of crunch to them, as if I had put nuts in them, and it's enjoyable. Next time I make them I'm considering dissolving the grounds in water first to see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I baked these cookies today and could'nt stop sampling them they are great !!! I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder to the flour . and I frosted them with a light vanilla icing and grated semi sweet chocolate on top. very good !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m snell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I always read the reviews before tackling a recipe I made these and they were GREAT! Although I prefer butter, I used margarine v. shortening for added flavor. I also used a single serving packet of Starbucks instant coffee - which I just happened to have and I think because STarbucks is normally strong coffee, one packet worked (compared to 1T v. 2T.) I didn't have nuts which I think would have held the cookie together and kept it from spreading. I always double the vanilla. I also added 1/4 C flour like the other reviewer suggested. The cookie tastes great! The batch made 30 cookies. I only spooned the 1t as the recipe suggested. They spread a lot! They are thin and waferlike, but like I said, I think the nuts would have held it together better. 8 minutes baking time was perfect as well. I topped them off with Halloween colored sprinkles for interest. I would definitely make again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trystanlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I thought it tasted pretty good they looked like aweful cookies before I cooked them but they taste really sweet. be sure to use instant coffee. (i used irish cream coffe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by young-cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
For how few ingredients, they are pretty good cookies. However, I didn't have walnuts or chocolate chips, but they still held together just fine. If you want your instant coffee from making too big of crunchies, just pour the amount into a bowl & roll a spoon around on it until the coffee becomes more powdery. I also increased the flour & they turned out perfect. Super easy quick recipe if you don't have very much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
My boyfriend absolutely loved these cookies (with some changes, of course). I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 cup cocoa. I also used 1 cup of flour and 1 cup of sugar. I also replaced the shortening with real butter. I was out of instant coffee, so I just used 1 k-cup of breakfast blend coffee (the coffee in k-cups is ground up fine enough that it's not so grainy and it blends into the batter well). They kept their shape very well and didn't spread out at all. They were very brownie-like, and if you let them sit a day, the coffee flavor is even more noticeable. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cailtin Danger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
They turned out great, I put the dough in fridge after making the first batch and noticed that after putting it in the fridge, they did not flatten as much. I really liked the subtle coffee taste and walnuts. When i make it again, i will cut down on the sugar by a couple of tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ines
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
We added an extra spoon of sugar. Our coffee is dark roast and they come out strong like we like it. We we substituted the Walnuts for chocolate chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States