Coffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Good cookies. I think one things people might be doing wrong is using oil? for shortening - I used butter and HELLO they were fine. I did bump the flour up to 1 cup - everything else was great. I have found that ANY COOKIE baked until the edges are golden are ALWAYS too done and end up hard. I figure when the start to firm up when you touch the tops - just like cakes - they are done. A trick a friend of mine shared with me (from her Grandmother) is when cookies get hard, put them in a plastic bag with a piece of white bread. I don't know the science behind it or how they figured it out but IT WORKS! Soft cookies again. I added 1/3 c. cocoa and yummy. I got 33 cookies. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made these today and was a bit worried they wouldn't come out well, judging by some other reviews, but to my delight they turned out absolutely delicious! I read the comments and changed the ingredients accordingly, using 1 tsp vanilla extract instead of 1/2, 1 cup flour instead of 3/4, 1/2 cup margarine instead of shortening, and 1/2 cup chocolate chips instead of nuts, as well as baking for 8 minutes. There didn't appear to be much batter in the bowl so I wondered how many it would actually make, and it was very, very moist (probably because I melted my butter). I rolled them into balls with my hands as I like to do, though I made them small and widely spaced apart in case they flattened. They actually didn't flatten at all! And because I used small bits of batter to begin with I found out they puff up quite a lot, so you could get more cookies if you used less batter. All up it made about 20 cookies, so still not a whole lot but a decent amount. The coffee grounds give a sort of crunch to them, as if I had put nuts in them, and it's enjoyable. Next time I make them I'm considering dissolving the grounds in water first to see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I always read the reviews before tackling a recipe I made these and they were GREAT! Although I prefer butter, I used margarine v. shortening for added flavor. I also used a single serving packet of Starbucks instant coffee - which I just happened to have and I think because STarbucks is normally strong coffee, one packet worked (compared to 1T v. 2T.) I didn't have nuts which I think would have held the cookie together and kept it from spreading. I always double the vanilla. I also added 1/4 C flour like the other reviewer suggested. The cookie tastes great! The batch made 30 cookies. I only spooned the 1t as the recipe suggested. They spread a lot! They are thin and waferlike, but like I said, I think the nuts would have held it together better. 8 minutes baking time was perfect as well. I topped them off with Halloween colored sprinkles for interest. I would definitely make again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trystanlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is an Adult cookie! It does taste like coffee, but if you like coffee you will love this cookie. I added chocolate chips and they came out great. I only cooked them 8 minutes...so just check on them so they aren't "rocks". Update: My grandmother (the best cookie maker in the world) loved this cookie so much that she actually asked me for the recipe...can you believe it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I thought it tasted pretty good they looked like aweful cookies before I cooked them but they taste really sweet. be sure to use instant coffee. (i used irish cream coffe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by young-cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
It has no flavor, no nothing and is not as many servings as the recipe says it has. It's a great start to a better cookie! It's chewy, but that's it...my suggestion is to expirement with it until you love the taste of the batter (even though its not healthy :) ) and then bake it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
All I have to say is that you need hot coffee to soften these puppies up. I tried this recipe and so didn't four of my friends and we all thought the same. LIKE A ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I just finished baking these & was quite disappointed. They looked like lumpy brown fried eggs! The coffee taste was too subtle as I could only get a hint of it. To the remaining dough in the bowl, I added a little more flour & the cookies held their form as they baked. Next time I will also add more instant coffee. These cookies have potential but definitely need tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Im sorry to say that i didnt really like these cookies very much. They didnt taste much like i had expected them too. I added some sugar and flour so that they wouldnt be quite as flat and some chocolate chips to improve the taste. It somewhat helped and they tasted a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I'm quite disappointed by this recipe. They taste decent, but they spread out a lot during baking. The amounts seem to be off too- no way does this recipe make thirty cookies. I wound up with 14. It's a promising start- with more flour and maybe a dash of cinnamon these would be a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States