Coffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Good cookies. I think one things people might be doing wrong is using oil? for shortening - I used butter and HELLO they were fine. I did bump the flour up to 1 cup - everything else was great. I have found that ANY COOKIE baked until the edges are golden are ALWAYS too done and end up hard. I figure when the start to firm up when you touch the tops - just like cakes - they are done. A trick a friend of mine shared with me (from her Grandmother) is when cookies get hard, put them in a plastic bag with a piece of white bread. I don't know the science behind it or how they figured it out but IT WORKS! Soft cookies again. I added 1/3 c. cocoa and yummy. I got 33 cookies. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made these today and was a bit worried they wouldn't come out well, judging by some other reviews, but to my delight they turned out absolutely delicious! I read the comments and changed the ingredients accordingly, using 1 tsp vanilla extract instead of 1/2, 1 cup flour instead of 3/4, 1/2 cup margarine instead of shortening, and 1/2 cup chocolate chips instead of nuts, as well as baking for 8 minutes. There didn't appear to be much batter in the bowl so I wondered how many it would actually make, and it was very, very moist (probably because I melted my butter). I rolled them into balls with my hands as I like to do, though I made them small and widely spaced apart in case they flattened. They actually didn't flatten at all! And because I used small bits of batter to begin with I found out they puff up quite a lot, so you could get more cookies if you used less batter. All up it made about 20 cookies, so still not a whole lot but a decent amount. The coffee grounds give a sort of crunch to them, as if I had put nuts in them, and it's enjoyable. Next time I make them I'm considering dissolving the grounds in water first to see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I always read the reviews before tackling a recipe I made these and they were GREAT! Although I prefer butter, I used margarine v. shortening for added flavor. I also used a single serving packet of Starbucks instant coffee - which I just happened to have and I think because STarbucks is normally strong coffee, one packet worked (compared to 1T v. 2T.) I didn't have nuts which I think would have held the cookie together and kept it from spreading. I always double the vanilla. I also added 1/4 C flour like the other reviewer suggested. The cookie tastes great! The batch made 30 cookies. I only spooned the 1t as the recipe suggested. They spread a lot! They are thin and waferlike, but like I said, I think the nuts would have held it together better. 8 minutes baking time was perfect as well. I topped them off with Halloween colored sprinkles for interest. I would definitely make again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trystanlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is an Adult cookie! It does taste like coffee, but if you like coffee you will love this cookie. I added chocolate chips and they came out great. I only cooked them 8 minutes...so just check on them so they aren't "rocks". Update: My grandmother (the best cookie maker in the world) loved this cookie so much that she actually asked me for the recipe...can you believe it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I thought it tasted pretty good they looked like aweful cookies before I cooked them but they taste really sweet. be sure to use instant coffee. (i used irish cream coffe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by young-cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
It has no flavor, no nothing and is not as many servings as the recipe says it has. It's a great start to a better cookie! It's chewy, but that's it...my suggestion is to expirement with it until you love the taste of the batter (even though its not healthy :) ) and then bake it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
All I have to say is that you need hot coffee to soften these puppies up. I tried this recipe and so didn't four of my friends and we all thought the same. LIKE A ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I just finished baking these & was quite disappointed. They looked like lumpy brown fried eggs! The coffee taste was too subtle as I could only get a hint of it. To the remaining dough in the bowl, I added a little more flour & the cookies held their form as they baked. Next time I will also add more instant coffee. These cookies have potential but definitely need tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Im sorry to say that i didnt really like these cookies very much. They didnt taste much like i had expected them too. I added some sugar and flour so that they wouldnt be quite as flat and some chocolate chips to improve the taste. It somewhat helped and they tasted a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I'm quite disappointed by this recipe. They taste decent, but they spread out a lot during baking. The amounts seem to be off too- no way does this recipe make thirty cookies. I wound up with 14. It's a promising start- with more flour and maybe a dash of cinnamon these would be a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States