Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This was pretty good. A very easy recipe to satisfy a sweet tooth craving! I also thought the top was a little bare so I made a thin icing glaze (about 1/4 cup of confectioners sugar, a dash of vanilla and a bit of milk to make a thin paste) and spread it overtop while the cake was still warm. It added to the sweetness of course but still think its better with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
It was ok. Top needs something. It was kind of dry, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great recipe! New Year's Day I found this recipe. Only had butterscotch pudding and white cake mix. Made it anyway and it was a hit! Thank you for making me look like I know what I'm doing. Lol Happy New year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made this for Christmas and it was absolutely outstanding! This is my new go-to coffee cake recipe. Incredibly easy, moist, and very flavorful. You can make this cake in less time than it takes to drive to a bakery and love it just as much. I added a dusting of powdered sugar to the top for a seasonal look and used almonds because I had no walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I only used about 1/2 of the sugar/walnut mixture(skipped the butter) and it was sweet enough for my taste. I also split the mixture between the middle and top which worked well. For the yellow cake mix I substituted 1 1/2 cups flour+ 3tsp. baking powder+ 4tbs corn starch+ 1 1/3 cups sugar+ 2tsp vanilla as suggested by a user on a similar recipe. The texture was great, very fluffy and delicious, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I also layer the brown sugar mixture, half in the middle and half on the top. One time I was out of vanilla pudding and used butterscotch pudding, still turned out great. Never have any leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
this was very good and extremely sweet. Totally easy to make. My family loved it. I would put a finer chop on the walnuts. The walnut mixture was totally delish and the whole recipe turned out well. Felt the top was bare after it came out of the oven, so a little powdered sugar was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
My mother-in-law gave me this recipe years ago. She called it Jewish Coffee Cake (and she wasn't Jewish either). The only thing she did differently was to pour half of the batter in, sprinkle the topping, then pour the rest of the batter and sprinkle remaining topping. It's easy to make, tastes good, and everyone enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States