Coffee Cake Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lola
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My 10 yr old daughter loves to bake and this was a great recipe for her. We decided to sprinkle all of the walnut mixture between batter layers instead of half for the bottom. So moist and the perfect accompaniment to a cup of coffee to start the day. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I think the bake time is too long. The cake seemed too dry on the bottom. The top with streusel was still moist and that part was good. If I make it again, I will cut down the bake time. But, honestly, I doubt I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
What a simple and Sooo Delicious coffee cake! Very moist I did use buttermilk instead of sourcream and used walnuts just what I had on hand! Yummyyyy! Oh and for the nut mixture I used all brown sugar just my own personal preference! I will use this recipe again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a very delicious cake! My family loves it when they wake up and find this in the kitchen. I had never experienced moist coffee cake until I stumbled upon this recipe. The only bad thing about this cake is I can't keep it in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CopperGryphon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I couldn't keep the compliments from coming! Everyone raved about it! I used a half c. white sugar and a half c. brown sugar. I also doubled the struesal and layered three times in addition to more nuts- once on the bottom of the bunt, once in the middle, and lastly on the top of the bunt. I also used a whole tub of sour cream, maybe 1.5 cups. Very moist, very flavorful, perfect. I was told it tasted like something from our local famous german bakery! For my struesal- melt about a half stick of butter, maybe a cup of brown sugar, two tbs flour, and chopped nuts. Mix well, should be fairly dry, but clumps well to the touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I made this recipe for the first time today and was very very disappointed. The batter looked like frosting and I had a hard time pouring it into the pan. Once cooked and cooled, the cake fell into pieces when I sliced it. I didn't like the taste of it either. Definitely not a keeper, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Good, but not as moist as we had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This cake was just O.K. for me. I used brown sugar instead of white for the filling as suggested by other reviewers and it was not sweet enough for me. I also found that it was over-baked after 50 minutes - the outside crust was quite hard. I may try this again though, with a few changes - I will bake it for 40-45 minutes at 300 degrees and add a glaze over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I love this recipe. I make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Okay, so i've been given the asignment of making the coffee cake for Christmas morning with my boyfriend's family. I saw this recipe and decided to do a trial run. I baked it in a in a 9x13" pan since I didn't have the bundt pan and didn't layer it. I made the batter as directed but made a slight change to the topping. I added a little more walnuts than called for and about 3T of flour. I then added very thin slices of butter sprinkled over the topping. I took half of the cake with us to his parents house this weekend and my boyfriend and his dad each had 3 slices! Neither of them have major sweet tooths so I took that as a good sign. The only other change i'll make next time is to add more cinnamon. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States