Coffee Cake Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Okay, so i've been given the asignment of making the coffee cake for Christmas morning with my boyfriend's family. I saw this recipe and decided to do a trial run. I baked it in a in a 9x13" pan since I didn't have the bundt pan and didn't layer it. I made the batter as directed but made a slight change to the topping. I added a little more walnuts than called for and about 3T of flour. I then added very thin slices of butter sprinkled over the topping. I took half of the cake with us to his parents house this weekend and my boyfriend and his dad each had 3 slices! Neither of them have major sweet tooths so I took that as a good sign. The only other change i'll make next time is to add more cinnamon. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I tried someones suggestion about putting this in a loaf pan, well I actually put it in 2 loaf pans. I t took a very long time to cook and it just didnt taste very good. I will try it again but with the right pan, the topping was really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This was really moist and delicious! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was an excellent tasting recipe! The only reason i didn't give it 5 stars was because it was a very crumbly. I will make it again though. the taste is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was so yummy!!!! We loved this coffee cake. It was very moist! The kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was a great coffee cake and a big hit with the coworkers. It was moist and full of flavor. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Westminster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This is the second time that I have made this and it is FABULOUS! My husband had been bugging me to make a "koogan" as his family calls it. I searched for a recipe similar to that of his mother's. This is the closest according to him. His Mom used to make hers with Bisquick. I like this better as is has more of a cake texture and that hint of sweet. I used brown sugar and pecans for my "swirl" mix and it is sooooo good. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS RECIPE! Thanks Allison! P.S. Just made this AGAIN with walnuts, this is so delicious. I can't rave enough about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This cake was moist and tender, and everyone in the house liked it. It stayed pretty moist the next day, too. Instead of white sugar I used brown sugar for the streusel and it added just enough sweetness without overpowering the cake. Thanks for a good recipe! When mixing a cake like this, it's critical to follow the recipe's instructions to "stir" the wet and dry ingredients together, not use the mixer. Over mixing is a common error with these kinds of cakes (quick breads and muffins, too), and that leads to a tough and therefore dry cake (bread, muffin). That may be the reason some of the other reviewers' cakes were not as moist. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Absolutely delicious!!! I made this 3 time's now and it was the best I've ever made. Very moist and raised really nice.. The first time I made it I made it exactly the way it was posted. (wonderful) Then the last two time's I added 2 med. size banana's... It was so good that way.. Everyone was asking for the recipe.. One time I made it I didn't have any sour cream so I added sour milk.. It still worked out perfect... Give it a try. I'm sure you will love it. I have tried some coffe cake's and they seem to be a little dry.. This one is not... Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Quite good. I halved the recipe, put it in a bread pan, and cooked it between 35 and 40 minutes, checking it with a toothpick as it cooked. Turned out nice and moist on the inside while crunchy on the sides - yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathbar
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States