Coffee Cake. Literally. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Fabulous! I substituted yogurt for the buttermilk and it still turned out moist and… well… amazing. Thank you! UPDATE: I am surprised that some people have been having difficulty with this recipe. The baking time for me was perfect. It is worth noting that the recipe is Ree Drummonds (The Pioneer Woman) and step-by-step instructions can be found on her website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ern
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
My little secret is to add some cream cheese and lime or lemon juice to the icing. MMM! A little less sweet, and a lot more creamy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Yumm!!! I did mine with vanilla yogurt in place of buttermilk and a couple tsps of instant coffee mixed with cool whip for the icing because it's what I had lol. It turned out great though! And my husband liked that it wasn't as sweet with the cool whip. I did have to cook it almost twice as long as the recipe says but omg irrelevant because this is deeeeelish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My daughter is a huge coffee lover so asked for a coffee flavored birthday cake. So glad I found this recipe for her. I used dark chocolate frosting instead (per her request) and she loved it! This recipe made her day and made me super mum of the year. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I had my doubts about this recipe at first but I just rolled my sleeves and made it today. I followed the recipe strictly and halved it because I wanted to make just one 8" round. It smelled like a welcoming coffee café. The color was perfect mocha, tasted divine. The texture was fluffy, moist and soft. It's not really spongy and that's how I wanted it to be. Reminded me of my visits to grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy Maempel
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
SERIOUSLY the most moist, flavorful cake I have ever made! The coffee flavor isn't over-powering... it's almost a caramel-type flavor. The frosting is EXCELLENT and I topped it with mini milk choc chips and chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Maempel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This recipe is perfect. Just follow all the ingredients and the steps. But next time I would add more coffee so it will taste more. 1. I substituted the buttermilk into 1/2 cup of milk and 1 tbs of lemon juice and let it sit for 2-3 minutes. 2. I need 45 minutes until the cake was ready in the oven. 3. I made sour cream frosting with this recipe http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Sour-Cream-Chocolate-Frosting/Detail.aspx . I used 6 tbs of sugar and it was too sweet. I think you should reduce the amount of sugar if you want to use the original recipe of the frosting for this coffee-cake. It is way too-sweet. I would definitely make this cake with this recipe again in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dorothy Nelson
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Oh my word... if only I could rate it a 10. This cake was fantastic! It was all gone within 24 hours. Super moist and it was like having a sweetened cup of coffee. The only adjustments that I had to make was to increase the cook time about 10 minutes (used a 9x13 glass dish), and added a bit more coffee to the frosting. Our family likes strong coffee. Everyone of us (there are 3) really enjoyed this cake. Fantastic recipe and a keeper for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
The flavor of the cake batter was rich and packed a punch - exactly what coffee cake should be. The frosting was a tad sweet, will cut down if I make it again next time. The cake didn't really rise so came out a little dense, not sure if that's meant to be that way? Overall, still a good traditional coffee cake recipe. 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cass_c
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Very tasty cake! I cut down 1/2 to 1/3 of the sugar and the cake is still a bit too sweet - especially the frosting. I used half the amount of everything for the frosting suggested in the receipt and it's already enough to cover the whole cake. Like everyone else, I had to bake it for much longer than suggested (50 mins maybe) or else the centre of the cake would still be liquid. Perhaps that's why the receipe suggested us to cook it in two cake tin. I just used one and therefore the cake is much thicker. Anyway, the cake is really yummy and everyone loves it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States