Codfish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I tried it and I like it. I used half and half instead of whole milk and I spiced it with a very few drops of Paula Deen's Hot Wing Sauce. I like celery and so added a bit, chopped up, at the end to give it a little crunch. Delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I made this chowder and it was such a hit with my guests that I am making it again this week for a new round of dinner guests. Just serve it with crusty bread and salad and it makes a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Made it with canned corn and regular white potatoes, and I also added a little heavy cream. Turned out great. Had it for lunch with some nice crusty Italian bread - perfect for a chilly Fall day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
My DH and our friends gave it an A+. I didn't use fresh corn on the cob, but used 1/2 bag of "birds-eye"frozen petite white corn, and I had to improvise on the Old Bay's Seasoning. I pretty much knew what spices to put together, so I'm confident it was pretty close to what it would have tasted with the "Old Bay". I will be making this again. Thanks for a great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Very delicious recipe! Can be made with any whitefish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This is my first attempt at a fish chowder and I'm very pleased. I didn't have any cod so I used a combo of salmon and scallops. I didn't have fresh parsley so I used dried parsley and added it with the Old Bay. Also, I didn't add any salt since I used bouillon & water instead of canned broth and it was plenty salty. This is excellent--very hearty and filling. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sammi
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I AM IN LOVE!!! This is amazing! I used left over fish from last nights dinner and added more fish. I used cream instead of milk. Over all this is a HUGE winner of a recipe! THANK YOU for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Good Cape Cod style recipe. Will make whenever I am hankering for the ocean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANVIC1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Although the flavor was terrific, we like our chowder a bit thicker, so I will probably make a roux next time. I did not have any white potatoes, so I used sweet potatoes and it turned out great. Also - I set aside the bacon until I was ready to serve the chowder, crisped it for a few secs in the microwave, crumbled it, and used it as a garnish on top. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NHORAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
this soup turned out amazing. I only had 1%milk so I added 2 tbsp of cream cheese with the butter. Instead of cod I used walleye and added chopped shrimp, baby scallops, and a can of crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States