Cod with Lemon, Garlic, and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
We tried this and it and liked it a lot. The only thing we did differently was to put the fish in a pan rather than on foil, because the acidity in the lemons can react badly with foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Pretty good, a little bland, used garlic salt and lemon pepper, baked in oven in foil for 45 min, fat piece of cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This was my first fish recipe ever, I made this for my in-laws and husband. In all honesty I didn't like but it was through no fault of the recipe I just learned I was not a cod fan. The ones I made this for, who are big cod fans LOVED it, it was a huge hit and I've already been asked to make it again next time it's my turn to cook. The only change I made was to add a splash of Pinot Grigio to each packet. Obviously I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Incredibly simple and yet very favorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. It was so easy and very tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I was really looking forward to making this recipe: the ingredients sounded delicious; the reviews were mostly good; and the picture (BIGSHOTSMOM's picture) was SO pretty. IT WAS SO BITTER. I used fresh thick-skinned organic lemons to make it. I did know that the white pith on citrus fruits is what makes them bitter, and I did wonder about it when adding my thick-skinned organic lemon slices to the fish, but I followed the recipe based on the positive reviews. It never occurred to me to use THIN-SKINNED LEMONS to make this recipe, or to use just the very zesty outer part of the lemon peel, or TO PEEL THE LEMONS (they are unpeeled in BIGSHOTSMOM's photo and she said that she liked this recipe) until I tasted my own very bitter creation. I don't want to give this recipe a bad review (2 stars) because I am guessing that CINDERELLA was using a different type of lemon than what is available to me in my location to make it (or expected that I would automatically PEEL THE LEMON), but really mine wasn't good. I did REMOVE THE SEEDS from the lemon, which I do know can also be bitter. I am not so discouraged that I would never try making this recipe again, but I would surly PEEL THE LEMONS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This was so good!!! The only thing I did different was used a little bit of lemon pepper seasoning. It was melt in your mouth good!!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I just made this and followed the simple directions to the letter using very fresh cod. This was bland and tasteless. I cook salmon regularly in a similar way, but with cod this method infuses very little, if any flavor. I am sorry I cooked the fish this way. I suggest making a glaze or pan sauce if you like your food to be flavored to try and rescue this dull recipe, Clean up is easy,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This was a super easy dinner to make, and no dish to clean made it a hit with me! I cooked this on the grill in the packets so I didn't even heat up the house. They took less time to grill. Plan on 12 to 18 minutes of cooking time, depending on the thickness of your cod. I love cod for its mild, delicate flavor. I was not a huge fan of the garlic in this recipe or I would have given it 5 stars. Otherwise, a great dinner! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This is a tasty way to prepare cod, or any white fish. I misread the recipe and put the garlic under the lemon, which made it rather strong. It did take more like 30 minutes for my fish to bake and it could have used another 5 minutes, so I suggest you start checking at 20 minutes, but be prepared for it to take longer. Nice recipe, Cinderella, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States