Cod with Italian Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
A very quick, easy way to prepare cod. I gave it 4 stars as I altered the recipe with suggestions of previous reviewers. I, too, used mayo (with added lemon juice) to coat the fish before putting adding the crumb topping. Also, I had no regular bread crumbs on hand, but used pancko crumbs instead and added used 3 tablespoons of corn meal compensate for the larger crumbs. This recipe would work nicely with other mild fishes and I may even try it on thinly pounded chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was delicious and keeping it low fat is the key! I did add a bit more italian seasoning. Came out great! Green beans and cous cous make a super easy week day meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is really good and really easy. I followed other reviewer's suggestions to use fat free mayo instead of olive oil and eggwhite, and used Italian breadcrumbs instead of the breadcrumb/cornmeal combo. I added a little smoked paprika and salt too. I used frozen hake from Costco, baked at 350 for awhile, then broiled to make the outside nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I too used the mayo instead of the egg whites. Family loved it and it was so simple. Great weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I do not like cod, But after reading the review This is The best cod I've ever eaten. The more I play with my food, the more I love cooking, to make a recipe that will work for me, that is!! Than I can do the happy food dance!! I've will added this to my recipe book with my additions. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
delicious. I used my low carb bread crumbs, left out the corn meal, pan fried it almost to completion then spooned a bit of parmesean over the tops, turned off the heat and covered with lid for a bit. Was faster, yummy and didn't have to heat up the house with the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Absolutely delicious! As recommended, I used the mayo and lemon in place of the egg white. Tons of flavor...this is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This cod recipe was quite good. My boyfriend and I both liked it quite a lot for simple, easy, reasonably healthy dinner. I plan to make it again. I think it needs just a little something more to give it some oomph; adding just a tiny squirt of lemon at the table seemed to do the trick. A very serviceable dinner that the whole family can easily enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizRicksLiebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I followed the advice of others regarding the substitution of mayo for the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Many of the reviews suggested mayo and lemon juice as a substitute for the egg white, so I went with that :) sorry, it just sounded better in my opinion. I followed one reviewer's suggestion and used 2 tablespoons mayo, 2 teaspoons lemon juice, and then I added personally a tablespoon of mustard. I put the breading all around the fillets as well. I added to the bead crumb/and cornmeal garlic salt, lemon pepper, and Italian seasoning (like you said). Everything turned out great, husband REALLY liked it :) Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommie0610

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States