Cod with Italian Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I liked this recipe, my husband wasn't as big of a fan, but he generally doesn't like fish. Anyways, followed the modifications of others, using mayo and lemon instead of the egg wash. Turned out really good. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheffster
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Had some extra cod and I didn't want to freeze it (yeah - so I had two cod dinners this week lol). I knew this recipe was the answer. It sounded amazing and it WAS amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Awesome recipe. I used the mayo /lemon combo instead of the egg, also used Ritz crackers instead of bread cumbs and cornmeal. I didn't have Italian seasoning but use oregano and basil. This dish is a keeper. It is very similar to a fish topping we had at the Boston Fsh House in New Smyrna Beach Florida. Ths will happen again with other white fishes like Halibut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I used mayo also and after adding brd. crmbs. I spray lightly with cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I definitely benefitted from the previous reviewers' comments. Since I was cooking for two, I made following changes. First, I did not need to waste most of an egg, so I opted to go the mayo route. I also opted to avoid commercial mayo and made my own, using a pastured chicken egg, light olive oil and lemon juice from a lemon off my backyard tree. I rolled my cod pieces in the mayo, then rolled them in the topping, however I subbed in crushed rice crackers since this is a wheat free household. I served them with a drizzle of aoli built from my mayo plus some garlic and extra lemon juice. Was fantabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was great! I did follow the advice of others and used mayo and lemon juice in place of the egg white. A great tasting dish and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CharB26350
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is yummy!!! Instead of egg white, I brushed with fat free ranch and drizzled the olive oil instead of adding to the dry mix. Perfectly cooked and delicious. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
My biggest advice on this recipe is to use 3oz fillets. Mine were much larger and the topping just wasn't enough for the larger fillets. I did take the advice of others and used 2 Tbsp mayo mixed with 1 tsp lemon juice in place of the egg. I liked the flavor of the topping well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
liked the flavor of the fish, but thought the crumb mixture was a bit much, i would cut it in half next time and use the other's suggestions of swapping some of the coating and egg whites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very nice. Used mayo instead of the egg white and cooked it on parchment paper. The cod was flaky and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States