Cod with Italian Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I followed this recipe as directed. Thought it was really bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Scrumptious!! I've just begun my foray into fish, and started out frying. This was my first attempt baking, and it was sooo successful! Although I too switched-out the egg white for mayo/lemon juice, I give this poster 5stars because they nailed the important stuff -roasting rack, temp & time, brush-on, &all other methods!)Critical 2first-timers 1 observation: I think reviewers complaining about dryness are using the wrong breadcrumbs. Not Progresso Italian style, but PANKO! The poster does say "dry bread crumbs." I find its always best 2go with panko 9 out of 10 times! Happy eating :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Made it as directed and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Rouge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very good! and very easy too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
WOW! what a wonderful flavor. Made modification as sugessted in previous reviews and used 1T mayo and 1t lemon juice mixture instead of egg whites. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Good! Used the egg whites, but added lemon juice and used shallots in the breading mixture. Instead of cornmeal I crushed some tortilla chips and it worked just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was very good! I liked the flavor of the crumb topping and appreciated the ease of not doing the whole breading operation. I also did the mayo/lemon juice as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Used the lemon juice/light mayo to hold the crumbs on that other reviewers recommended. This was very good! *Update*: Made this again tonight, but left out the parmesan cheese and Italian seasoning- I put some of Emeril's Essence cajun seasoning in the breadcrumbs and a couple grinds of black pepper in the light mayo/lemon juice mixture. Husband and 18-month-old son loved it! Served with Zatarain's red beans and rice and steamed cauliflower/broccoli w/garlic- so easy and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Tasty and easy.I did use the egg white despite the other reviews, I did add a little bit of lemon juice to the white though.I also increased the garlic powder to 1/2 tsp and added a dash of onion powder.I thought it would be better to dip the fish in the egg and then the mix, instead of just brushing it on, it turned out wonderfully will be making again!Thank you for this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamidee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Easy to make, came out good. (I used pollock.) Just that much better than plain breadcrumbs and butter topping. It took more than 12 minutes to cook through, maybe about 15 and it was perfect. I did it with the mayo/lemon juice mixture in place of egg white as recommended by many reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States