Cod with Italian Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
After reading several of the reviews for this recipe, we decided to forgo the egg white and replace it with 2T of mayo. mixed w/ 1t. lemon juice. We brused each piece of fish w/ the mixture, followed by the crumb topping. It was delicious! This was an inexpensive, quick and easy meal to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
THe best cod I've ever eaten. The only reason why I'm giving it a four star is because I took the suggestion of lemon and mayo instead of egg whites and I think it made a big difference in taste. I sauteed 3 cloves of garlic in oil then added it to a little mayo and lemon juice until it was thin. I then brushed that on the fish instead of the egg whites. It was awesome and super flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I made a couple changes. I rubbed the fish with fat free mayo rather than the egg white. I also didn't add the oil to the crumb mixture. Instead, I patted the crumbs onto the fish and then sprayed it with my oil spritzer. I baked as directed. It was so good. I've shared the recipe with a few people who also really enjoyed it. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I have to agree with what other reviewer's have already said here. Lose the egg white and replace it with a mayo-lemon juice combo ~ I use 2 Tbsp. mayo and 2 tsp. lemon juice(just ehough to leave a hint of lemon with every bite.) Soak the fish fillets in buttermilk for about an hour before preparing to eliminate any "fishy" taste, add a bit more seasoning and this is a delicious, healthy meal, one which the hubs and I have been enjoying for weeks now. Thanks for the post, dakota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
Very delicious. My only suggestion is to season the fish itself before adding the breading on top. I used some lemon juice, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
Good recipe ~ nothing too fancy - simple and easy to make. I made it with and without the egg white and my family did not notice a difference. This is a meal I'll make again. I did need to tent the fish at the end of the cooking time to prevent excessive browning of the breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUDNOYES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
The best fish I have ever tasted! I took the advise of others and used Italian bread crumbs and used mayo instead of egg white, and it came out perfect! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Couldn't see brushing the filets with egg white, but neither could I see swabbing them with mayonnaise as it seems most reviewers chose to do. I brushed the filets with melted butter and moistened the crumb mixture with it as well. The idea of the Italian seasoning with the delicate fish didn't appeal to me, so I chose to substitute fresh minced garlic, fresh chopped dill and parsley. I baked the fish in a shallow pan that I had drizzled with a little melted buttter. My filets were a little thicker, so I found that 20 minutes at 400 degrees was perfect. I love fish prepared this way and do so often. The addition of the corn meal was new for me, however, and I can't say that I even noticed it, so I would call it unnecessary. Served this with "Broccoli n Tomato Pasta," also from this site, and a tossed green salad. My idea of a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Please notice that the description clearly states this is a "low-fat" recipe. Therefore, substituting mayo for the egg white truly changes an important factor here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Alma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I like a lot of flavor, so I used crushed, seasoned croutons instead of bread crumbs. It really adds dimension and does not compromise texture. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States