Cod with Italian Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This one's definitely a keeper. Made a couple of changes to use what I had on hand. Substituted tilapia for the cod, dropped the cornmeal and mixed together panko and parmesan bread crumbs. Also added a little cayenne pepper and paprika. Put lemon juice and olive oil on the fish and spooned the dry bread mixture on top. Came out perfectly cooked with a nice mild flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanieLucy68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was easy and tasty. I also omitted the egg white and instead spritzed the cod with Pam, used panko bread crumbs, and didn't use the Italian seasoning but used 'season all'. Everyone liked it, even my picky 6 year old! My kids all said it smelled like fish sticks but tasted way yummier - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Hubby and I both love this recipe. We use tilapia instead of cod and I don't do the egg white as the crumbs stick to the damp fish just fine. My other changes: double the topping as more is better. I also double the oil as one teaspoon just doesn't seem like enough. The crumb topping is great with other side dishes like green beans, broccoli, cous cous, rice, etc. This is one of our monthly staple recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I rated this a 3. I'm just not a big fan of Italian seasonings on fish. I'm really just making a comment for those who found the cooking time off. The rule of thumb for fish is 5 minutes per inch of fish (thickness of the fish, not length). For us, we don't care for raw fish at all, so I start checking for donesness at 15 minutes. I like it done, but still moist. If it's dry, you've overcooked it. A white fish like cod or snapper should be opaque when done. A salmon should have a sheen to it, a moist sheen. I know some people like their fish a bit raw, but it's not a good idea per health department suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My family enjoyed this tonight when I followed the recipe as written. I agree, it could use a little lemon to perk it up slightly. Other than that, a quick, delicious and healthy dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is a great recipe. Made it with rave reviews. Husband said "Do again". The only thing I did different was I didn't do the egg white. Didn't want to waste the egg. Instead I rubbed the cod with a little olive oil and then put the crumb mixture over the top. Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
We finished our dinner but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Yummy. Cannot go wrong with cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDUBEAU

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I had a bit of trouble with the baking time--maybe my fillets were too thick??? Had to bake at least twice as long at the same temp. Used the mayo--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTYPET

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Very good. Used mayo instead of egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States