Cod with Italian Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
My whole family really liked this recipe. No Leftovers! I used the mayo as suggested by other cooks. Worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Yummy..rubbed mayo on cod instead of egg..Delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
After reading the reviews this is what I did: Sauteed 6 crushed cloves of garlic in canola oil in a cast iron skillet over medium low heat, stirring constantly. Once the garlic was golden I removed the skillet from the heat and spread the garlic evenly in the skillet. I mixed 2 tbl of light mayo with fresh lemon juice and put even amounts on 4 pieces of cod fillets. I placed the fillets on top of the garlic in the cast iron and spread the mayo, then seasoned with fresh ground sea salt and pepper. Then I topped it with italian seasoned panko crumbs mixed with parmesan cheese. I sprayed the topping with oil spray. I baked it at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes. I had fillets that were pretty thick (frozen section from Costco). It turned out wonderfully...looked pretty and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Miller Motley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is one of the best fish recipes I've ever made. It was so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe was definitely a disappointment. The cooking time isn't correct, and after checking every 5 minutes after the supposed cook time the oven couldn't do its job. It was a little tough/dry, and the Italian seasoning couldn't do anything to hide it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
My family liked this recipe quite a bit. Like other reviewers, I passed on the egg white and used a very thin brushing of mayo on the cod before adding the crumb topping. Instead of packaged bread crumbs, I made fresh ones from whole wheat bread. I also substituted fresh minced garlic for the garlic powder and dried oregano and basil for the italian seasoning blend. A lovely, quick main course that I served with a variety of steamed vegetables and wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I think the crumb topping is just too much. I ended up scraping mine off and eating the fish plain. Just not my taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
How I wish I had had this recipe years ago! What a fast and delicious way to cook cod! I changed things around a tad due to missing some things in the kitchen: 1. I cooked the fillets in a baking dish sprayed with cooking spray rather than a broiler rack. 2. I brushed about 1 T mayonnaise on the fish first then spooned the crumb topping on top. (I found out at the last minute I didn't have a lemon on hand so it was just plain mayo.) 3. I bumped the Parmesan cheese up to 3T and it made the topping super cheesy tasting. So, as you can see, the changes were minimal but the fish still turned out FANTSTIC. I would recommned this recipe to anyone who is starting out cooking fish and is afraid - I would say it is close to foolproof and the outcome is so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I tried this last night and it was great. Not only was it simple, it was quick. I did use the suggestion of seasoning the fish and substituting the egg for mayo...It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I liked that is was breaded but not fried and the kids liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States