Cod with Italian Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I think the crumb topping is just too much. I ended up scraping mine off and eating the fish plain. Just not my taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
How I wish I had had this recipe years ago! What a fast and delicious way to cook cod! I changed things around a tad due to missing some things in the kitchen: 1. I cooked the fillets in a baking dish sprayed with cooking spray rather than a broiler rack. 2. I brushed about 1 T mayonnaise on the fish first then spooned the crumb topping on top. (I found out at the last minute I didn't have a lemon on hand so it was just plain mayo.) 3. I bumped the Parmesan cheese up to 3T and it made the topping super cheesy tasting. So, as you can see, the changes were minimal but the fish still turned out FANTSTIC. I would recommned this recipe to anyone who is starting out cooking fish and is afraid - I would say it is close to foolproof and the outcome is so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I tried this last night and it was great. Not only was it simple, it was quick. I did use the suggestion of seasoning the fish and substituting the egg for mayo...It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I liked that is was breaded but not fried and the kids liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This came out excellent...I also replaced the egg white with mayo and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Monmouth Junction, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was pretty good, and easy. I used the tip of other reviewers and ditched the egg white in favor of mayo and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Simple and delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This recipe may have potential. I used the suggestion of posters to coat with 2 tablespoons mayo and 1 teaspoon lemon juice instead of egg. I added 1 teaspoon refined white sugar to the coating. Always do that when using lemon juice to keep the sourness down. That turned out to be the main flavor that I got out of eating this, and was the best part. The topping browned nicely and was starting to burn, but the fish was still raw. By the time the fish was cooked, the topping was burnt and added crunch to the meal, but very little flavor. Suggest baking the fillets for 5 minutes before sprinkling the topping over them. Another "cure" for this might be to coat the fish, bake it at 350 degrees until done as tested with a fork, and then add the coating and broil until the topping starts to brown, which is does very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Very good!! I took the advise of others and used 2T mayo & 2t of lemon juice mixed with some sauted garlic in olive oil. I also soaked the fish in milk to rid of the fishy taste. Used slightly more seasoning and even my 12 year old who hates fish was eating it off of my plate!! Thank you, will be a regular dish in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was so good! We used fresh Tilapia and breaded all sides in the bread crumb mixture. This is now my favorite way to eat Tilapia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States