Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
WE LOVED IT, I ADDED OLD BAY AND PEPPER TO THE WATER AND TESTED IT BREADED AND FRIED VERSUS BAKED NOT WORTH THE EXTRA CALORIES, WILL BAKE HERE ON IN THANKS FOR SUCH AN EASY, DELICIOUS MEAL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe, but make it with whitefish or turbot or something. When you buy cod, it's from the Spanish and Portugese trollers that are destroying Newfoundland fisheries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This was a very good recipe! I did make some changes though. It seemed a bit plain, so I added about 3 T. of red bell pepper, some salt and pepper and Everglades seasoning. The mixture was too sticky, so I mixed in about 5 oz. of italian bread crumbs. My family loved them and I plan on making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
My husband and I grew up with Cod Fish Cakes as the ultimate comfort food. These were evn better than the ones we remembered!!! Lent isn't a sacrifice with these babies on your table! Just a warning tho - grating the onion will lead to red eyes, but the result is definitely worth it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bellmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
This recipe was excellent. My husband grew up having cod fish cakes and he absolutely loved these. I found that the cakes fell apart when you tried to flip them during frying. Next time I will add some more liquid (maybe milk) to the mix so they fall apart while frying. But in any case, these were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
This was excellent!! I had read others suggestions and added salt, pepper and garlic on my own. Also, because I didn't have fresh parsley I used dried. Usually I find it doesn't matter but I think fresh would have given this a much better flavor. This was even good reheated in the oven the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Lydia, thank you for this recipe. I had never tried fish cakes before - of anykind and found these wonderful! My fiance loved them and me, not a fish lover, really enjoyed them! I used fresh parsley and encourage others to do the same. I also added lemon pepper as well as some salt and black pepper to taste. They came together fast and cooked just as quick - great for the rush after work! Thanks again, Lydia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was a great way to cook fish! Different, delicious, and the leftovers were even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Badajoz, Extremadura, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
great recipe just add your own spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rigina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kharkiv, Kharkiv Oblast, Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I followed nesmar's advice and these fish cakes were absolutely delicious! Crispy on the outside, moist on the inside~My entire family loved them! They make a great meal on Friday's during Lent....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States