Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2000
This was a very simple recipe. My children really like them. Make sure you add your own seasonings for your taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JameelahS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2000
I liked this recipe. however, the "printable" version left out the amount of potatoes. I cooked the potatoes separately, and added the cod with a little onion in the same water. I added some sauteed chopped onions and dried parsley to potatoe mixture. After adding the flaked cod, I put the patties in the refrigerator and after 1/2 hour coated them with Japanese bread crumbs called Panko. They were very, very good! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
This recipe was excellent. My husband grew up having cod fish cakes and he absolutely loved these. I found that the cakes fell apart when you tried to flip them during frying. Next time I will add some more liquid (maybe milk) to the mix so they fall apart while frying. But in any case, these were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
These were surprisingly good ... easy too! My fish-hating kids loved them, and went back for several helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
Needs more seasoning. Next time will try more cod, less potatoes, and old bay seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
Definitely needs a little seasoning added. I used seasoning salt w/pepper and garlic. I used scallions and onions and didn't use the parsley (cause I didn't have any) and they were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
This was excellent!! I had read others suggestions and added salt, pepper and garlic on my own. Also, because I didn't have fresh parsley I used dried. Usually I find it doesn't matter but I think fresh would have given this a much better flavor. This was even good reheated in the oven the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Excellent recipe. I added Old Bay. My husband took leftovers for lunch and commented when he returned home on how great the fish cakes were a day later. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
WE LOVED IT, I ADDED OLD BAY AND PEPPER TO THE WATER AND TESTED IT BREADED AND FRIED VERSUS BAKED NOT WORTH THE EXTRA CALORIES, WILL BAKE HERE ON IN THANKS FOR SUCH AN EASY, DELICIOUS MEAL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Did I miss something? These were very bland. We used "Inner Beauty" hot sauce on them and that made them much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States