Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
The amount of oil used in this recipe has been corrected to read 3 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
What a great recipe. I've made fish cakes before, but never one that called for potatos. I had leftover potatos from the night before and thought what a great way to use them up. Instead of cod, I used canned tuna. It came together really nice and browned well. I used only a 2-3 Tbsp of oil though. You can add whatever spices or herbs you want. I liked it the way it was but, I think I will try dill next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpcookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Other than adding Old Bay seasoning and using less oil, I followed the directions. The cakes fell apart while cooking and were quite bland. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I prepared the potatoes and fish the day before. After forming the patties I dipped them in a mixture of equal parts breads crumbs and flour (as I found the patties to be sticky as I was forming them). Also, I baked the patties in the oven (425F) approx 12-15 minutes per side spreading a thin layer of vegetable oil on the bottom of the baking sheet (p.s. I have a gas oven,so temp may have to be adjusted). The fish cakes turned out good. This was the first time I have tried baking the patties instead of frying, as I wanted to cut back on the amount of oil used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I ENJOYED THIS RECIPE.AND I ADDED A SPLASH OF WORCESTER SAUCE,AND HALF A TIN OF COD ROE,WHEN MASHING ALL INGREDIENTS. LOVELY!AND WE ATE IT WITH UNCLE BEN,S SAVOURY RICE,AND MUSHY PEAS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvira Foster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Retford, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Shame on me, I should've read the reviews before I tried this recipe! I made it "as is" and I had three big problems: waaaay too much oil, the cakes fell apart when frying in the pan, and their taste was verrrry bland. I'll try some of the other reviewers' suggestions on how to help both before I try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
As it is Good Friday tomorrow I am making these for my In-Laws. Thanks for the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Recipe was simple and I used catfish! I also cooked it in the deep fryer and it made the best "munchers" I have had.If the potatoes are boiled to long or not drained enough the patties won't hold. And don't be afraid to spice it to your liking I used a little hot pepper and hot salt for a spicy touch. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
A bit on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine and Matthew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This recipe tasted great, but maybe it was something I did wrong... I used the calculator to adjust it for 3 servings, but they were falling apart in the pan while cooking :-( I took the remaining uncooked mixture,and added some flour, and baking powder to it, and the rest of the batch came out really well. The taste was marvelous, but I think an adjustment might be needed in the mixture if cooking for a smaller amount of servings. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States