Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This was pretty good! I left the fish and potatoes in a small dice and stirred together rather than mashing. I added about 1/4 cup of matzo meal to help it stick together. They did fall apart slightly, but still looked pretty good and tasted great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I dredge my cakes in flour or panko before frying (if gives the outside a crunchy texture and seems to hold the cakes together) These are simple to make and are so good. They remind me of the flavors of coastal New England where I grew up and enjoyed these as a child Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHELS
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
That much oil really isn't necessary,and if they have a little bit of filler, the cakes will fall apart quite easily. Otherwise, this is a very tasty dish! Growing up on Canada's East Coast they were almost a staple food in fact. I've tasted better before, but they weren't too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
The amount of oil used in this recipe has been corrected to read 3 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
What a great recipe. I've made fish cakes before, but never one that called for potatos. I had leftover potatos from the night before and thought what a great way to use them up. Instead of cod, I used canned tuna. It came together really nice and browned well. I used only a 2-3 Tbsp of oil though. You can add whatever spices or herbs you want. I liked it the way it was but, I think I will try dill next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpcookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Other than adding Old Bay seasoning and using less oil, I followed the directions. The cakes fell apart while cooking and were quite bland. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I prepared the potatoes and fish the day before. After forming the patties I dipped them in a mixture of equal parts breads crumbs and flour (as I found the patties to be sticky as I was forming them). Also, I baked the patties in the oven (425F) approx 12-15 minutes per side spreading a thin layer of vegetable oil on the bottom of the baking sheet (p.s. I have a gas oven,so temp may have to be adjusted). The fish cakes turned out good. This was the first time I have tried baking the patties instead of frying, as I wanted to cut back on the amount of oil used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I ENJOYED THIS RECIPE.AND I ADDED A SPLASH OF WORCESTER SAUCE,AND HALF A TIN OF COD ROE,WHEN MASHING ALL INGREDIENTS. LOVELY!AND WE ATE IT WITH UNCLE BEN,S SAVOURY RICE,AND MUSHY PEAS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvira Foster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Retford, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Shame on me, I should've read the reviews before I tried this recipe! I made it "as is" and I had three big problems: waaaay too much oil, the cakes fell apart when frying in the pan, and their taste was verrrry bland. I'll try some of the other reviewers' suggestions on how to help both before I try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
As it is Good Friday tomorrow I am making these for my In-Laws. Thanks for the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States