Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I made these tonight for dinner. I used just under a pound of cod, 2 large baking potatoes (for their starch in hopes of it holding them together), a half teaspoon of Old Bay, and I doubled the onion and parsley. I found the mixture to be pretty stiff (a spoon stood up easily in the mixture) so I added only the egg yolk, and threw away the white. My first batch still fell apart a bit in the pan, and I was very careful- even using two spatulas. So, I dredged my second batch in flour before frying- I didn't put them in an egg wash or anything, just flour, and they held together PERFECTLY. We all enjoyed them- even my 2 year old was gobbling them up. I thought they were tasty, but I would up the seasoning a bit more next time. If the kids weren't eating them, I'd add some heat. Really, the seasonings can be adjusted to whatever your liking. These were very easy, and the recipe made a dozen, which was just enough for us. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
i made this last night but changed it as i had leftover tuna steaks, which were partially cooked. i boiled the potatoes then slowly added the tuna to the drained potatoes (the heat form the potatoes cooked the remaining tuna). i added fresh chillies,garlic,parsley and chives as well as salt n pepper. I breaded them and fried them for 3mins each. They were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minxy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
It was delicious! My room mates don't like fish, and they liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~College*Girl~

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weiser, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARNZ01
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
4 stars due to changes required. I boiled the potato and cod with 2 garlic cloves and half an onion. Then mashed it all together, added thyme, red pepper flakes and some bread crumbs. Finally covered each cake in bread crumbs, cooled in the fridge for one hour (which allows them to harden and will not break apart during cooking). Then seared in a hot pan on both sides before finishing in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
These are wonderful. However, I did make a few small changes. Since I started with salt cod, I soaked it overnight, changed the water, simmered the cod, changed the water and simmered again to remove most of the salt. I coarsely mashed some leftover boiled potatoes and added the drained, flaked and deboned cod. I omitted the butter and added a little fresh-snipped dill. Then I coated the cod cakes with a little seasoned flour to make them really crispy on the outside. My husband grew up in Nova Scotia, and he had to admit that these cod cakes were just like the ones he remembers eating when he was a kid - except for the dill, which he said was a really nice addition. Thanks for the posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
These were soo good!! I did change a couple things though. I used less oil for frying and I put in about 3/4 cup bread crumbs to help them stay together. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SadieBelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrison, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
These were good. Both my husband and my daughter enjoyed. I add a lot more seasoning than was called for (seaoning salt, garlic, pepper, paprika, chopped onions, and more fresh parseley) and thankfully I did because my cakes were flavorful. I also packed the cakes with herbed breadcrumbs which helped to keep them together. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I made this recipe the way the recipe states but I had caught bluefish so I thought I would try that. It was so delicious. I made a mayo, mustard and lemon sauce to go with it. Superb. I will try it next time with cod. Susan from Cape Cod
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This was pretty good! I left the fish and potatoes in a small dice and stirred together rather than mashing. I added about 1/4 cup of matzo meal to help it stick together. They did fall apart slightly, but still looked pretty good and tasted great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
I dredge my cakes in flour or panko before frying (if gives the outside a crunchy texture and seems to hold the cakes together) These are simple to make and are so good. They remind me of the flavors of coastal New England where I grew up and enjoyed these as a child Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States