Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Really good. It makes an average 7 cakes just so ya'll know. I would make it again but was thinking of another way of cooking the fish besides boiling. very messy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Just like the ones in New England! Make the fish cakes small (larger ones fall apart) and add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
These were fantastic. What a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. I did dredge them in flour before frying, and next time I will coat them in breadcrumbs first, as I'm sure this will make them even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Durdle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
We LOVE these fish cakes! We will never eat "store bought" again. I follow the recipe exactly. I have used different kinds of fish, depending what is on sale. We have pan fried and deep fried them. Every way we have made them, they are delicious. Thank you for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Found this recipe while searching for a way to use all the fish in my freezer from my fiances fishing trips. I'm not a huge fan of fish, but these were really good! I did add bread crumbs to the mixture and also coated each cake with them, they were much too soft without. I added some seasonings - garlic powder, seasoned salt, cajun - but would add more next time to give it a little more kick. I had the deep fryer out for onion rings, so used it to cook these - lots of fat, I know, but it worked really well. Served them with some lemon-dill sauce and my fiance was already planning on when we should have them again before he had finished eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Wold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I used pollock instead of cod, but the cakes still tasted great. Fish sandwiches with tartar sauce were made out of the leftovers and these were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Loved this! Thanks for posting. I had some leftover (cooked) fish that my husband and son caught in the ocean. Microwaved 4 little potatos, had to use dried parsley, but the result was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Even with fish that had been frozen a bit too long, these came out delicious. I did add some extra seasoning and dredge them before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I haven't tried this yet, but when a recipe calls for "two large potatoes" and I think about the multitude of potatoes sizes, I get annoyed. How about "approximately two pounds" of potatoes" as a measurement or whatever her idea of two large ones weighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I didn't chill these before frying them but when I make them again - I will. They are quick and easy and the kids enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States