Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
this precipe is a good basic recipe, but i find it was too wet, so i added some bread crumbs. i find it tastes like hashbrowns and scrambled eggs, so i eat it with ketchup. i find even when i add my own spices it's still lacking on flavor, but my family likes it so i make it every so often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made these tonight to rave reviews! The possibilities of this yummy fish cake are endless! I would try garlic, fresh basil, lime juice, soy sauce, other kinds of fish or - abalone ... Thanks for the simple, steadfast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Roux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
SOOO easy to make. I added a lot of spices when I was boiling and when frying. Definitely put in the fridge for a bit before frying or else they will probably fall apart. I found 3-5 minutes a side for a pretty decent sized patty worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I actually made these with sole (it was what I had on hand). The first couple did not hold together very well, but they got better when I made the next couple a little bigger. When I make hem next time I might add a little pepper and possibly dill instead of the parsley. Otherwise my husband and I really enjoyed our special dinner =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nakisisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
A great, easy recipe. I used haddock instead of cod and it was delicious! It was a little bland as the recipe suggests so I recomend a side of baked beans and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was a good starting point but it really needed some help in the flavor department. Not enough seasonings and way too much potato. One or even none would be fine and I think a better replacement would be some Panko bread crumbs. I added chopped celery, lemon zest, lemon thyme, black pepper, a bit of Old Bay and coated with bread crumbs before frying. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Really good. Even my 4 year old liked them. I thought it could use more fish though and next time I make it I will add more. I also added Old Bay seasoning to my mix and it added just the touch of flavor it needed. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I only had sweet potatoes so I had to substitute, and had to add some bread crumbs to form good patties. I used parsley, salt, pepper, paprika and some pre-mixed "southwest chipotle" spices to season the mixture. I served this with a spicy sauce similar to a "bloomin' onion" sauce. These tasted wonderful, my husband ate 3 of them! I'll definitely add this to my recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
These were ok, but not very flavorful. I followed others suggestions and added some thyme, also cooled them in the fridge for over an hour. Then coated in whole wheat flour (we don't use white) with various Italian style seasonings. I think next time I will try adding more onion, some crushed garlic, and cooking in a different oil (used olive this time). I may try baking them too. My toddler did enjoy them dipped in ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
2 large potatoes? Way too much. The results were fishy hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States