Cod Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Fantastic! though I did tweak it a bit. I did not have any ginger paste or garlic paste so I just added a few dashes of ground ginger and minced garlic along with an extra bit of olive oil. Also instead of jalapenos, I used some hot chili sauce which I think better compliments the spices. This turned out perfectly. I love that it is low fat and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This was a wonderful way to get my picky husband to eat fish. Rather than use the extensive list of spices, I have a homemade curry powder mix I've made that gave this recipe a wonderful curry flavor. I threw in baby potatoes in the dish and let it all cook together. This is a family favorite now - we made it as often as we can get away with it. I highly recommend this taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chikalin
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
i'm not really sure why this is called 'curry' when there is no curry powder involved. it was ok as stated, but it seemed like it was missing something. since the name involved curry, i decided to add curry powder - 6 tbsp, and 1/4 c fat free half and half. this made it much better in my opinion, something like a korma. definitely worth making again with the changes - and there really wasnt anything lost because i tried the sauce before i served it so i had time to add things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was an easy healthy dish. I had everything but cilantro and cardamon....I will make it again using the full ingredient list since I questioned the amount of spices...thinking it needed more of everything and definitely a little more salt. Lots of wonderful juice and great over rice. I cut my cod into 2 inch rectangles from a full fillet. The fish was done in under the 15 min....I also think the spices would have come through more if I had had time to let it rest more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. The spices blended perfectly to create a delicious, authentic-tasting curry. The only addition I made was to add a little extra salt. I served it with aloo gobhi from another site and whole wheat parathas for a delicious, not too fatty meal. To the reviewer who thought this wasn't a real curry because it did not contain curry powder: the spices in this dish come together to create a curry flavor. Curry powder is just a blend of some of the same spices found in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
the proportions of spices are excellent and this allowed for one to taste the different levels of flavor; one spice did not overpower the other. I had a 14.5 oz. can of crushed tomatoes and then chopped up some romas that needed using up. I added 4 cloves of garlic and although I did not double the spices, I heaped each amt. that the recipe called for. Only other spice addition was anise seed, which I like in fish dishes. I usually don't use cilantro in Indian cooking because it tends to overpower the spices, so just pinched off a small handful and chopped. Added some turkish flat beans for a little more veggie, and served w/basmatic saffron rice. Thanks for this super quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was terrific! I only had one 14 oz can of tomatoes, so I added a little tomato paste with the garlic and ginger, and a little water with the canned tomatoes. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. My husband and I enjoyed this very much. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Good recipe. My husband suggested salting the fish before adding it to the curry. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I have tried this recipe with several kinds of fish (flounder, tilapia, grouper) and it really works well. I appreciate that it is healthy meal that tastes great. For the spices, I typically put in a bit more for flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Great, simple curry that is tasty and quick to make. By the way, curry powder is just a mixture of several different spices, like the ones called for in this recipe. "Curry powder" is not a necessary ingredient for a curry dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States