Cod Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Fantastic! though I did tweak it a bit. I did not have any ginger paste or garlic paste so I just added a few dashes of ground ginger and minced garlic along with an extra bit of olive oil. Also instead of jalapenos, I used some hot chili sauce which I think better compliments the spices. This turned out perfectly. I love that it is low fat and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felicity
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Very good! My mom loved it and she hates fish. (but she loves cilantro) Not a very strong curry flavour, but I didn't have tumeric or jalapenos so I chopped a green pepper and added a couple dashes of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicity

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was a really great way to use up cod! I didnt have some of the spices on hand so substituted curry powder and would agree with others that it needs a little bit of salt on the fish before it is added. Other than that this is a great recipe! I served it over brown rice:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. The spices blended perfectly to create a delicious, authentic-tasting curry. The only addition I made was to add a little extra salt. I served it with aloo gobhi from another site and whole wheat parathas for a delicious, not too fatty meal. To the reviewer who thought this wasn't a real curry because it did not contain curry powder: the spices in this dish come together to create a curry flavor. Curry powder is just a blend of some of the same spices found in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed this. I used finely minced garlic and ginger in place of the pastes, but otherwise made the recipe exactly as written. We ended up needing to add extra salt. I served it over millet. It was a great way to eat frozen fish, as I find strong flavors are helpful when not using fresh fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Great flavor and texture!! I peeled and cut 2 zucchinis into chunks and added them shortly after adding the onion. I also discovered i had no lemons or lemon juice but did have limes so i substituted lime juice. I didn't use near as much jalapeno-had a drying one and cut it up and added only some. It had quite a bite, but my 9yo ate it with lots of rice and enjoyed it. made my own garlic and ginger paste using an allrecipes recipe. I will make this again and hopefully get quicker at prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: University City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I made this with haddock instead of cod as I prefer the taste, both my husband and I really enjoyed it. It was perhaps less spicy than it might have been as I only had one chilli pepper, having said that it's probably just as well as I gave it to my 1 year old too - she enjoyed it. I prepared the sauce and then did exactly as the recipe said, I left it for a few hours whilst we went to see a show at the theatre. It was definitely a good idea, the taste had really improved and when we came home I just heated it up, added the fish, and wow...it was a really tasty meal. We had it with rice - I tried coconut rice for the first time from this website. To be honest I should have stuck with plain basmati, I would have enjoyed my fish even more. Top marks for this recipe, it's definitely one I will use again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzylou75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This is a deliciously tasty recipe but it is not really authentic or hot as it actually has no curry in it. This very good for a guest or a friend who you know probably isn't to keen on spicy foods and probably wouldn't try something like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Three Rivers, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I have tried this recipe with several kinds of fish (flounder, tilapia, grouper) and it really works well. I appreciate that it is healthy meal that tastes great. For the spices, I typically put in a bit more for flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
THis is BYYYYYY FARRRRRRRRRR THE BEST Cod I have EVER eaten...EVER!!! yummmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States