Cod Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I bought cod for the first time recently and I'm happy to have this unique fish dish to put into my dinner rotation. My only modification was to keep the seeds in the chiles for more heat, and add a dash of cayenne. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
We had fresh cod and at night number 3 I needed to make it differently then butter and breadcrumbs. This recipe was GREAT! My husband loved it. A big hit! Served with a lil garlic naan. Easy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Personally, I did not care for this recipe. I did not enjoy the combination of flavors but hubby cleaned his plate. He is typically a much pickier eater than I am. Perhaps my taste buds had taken the night off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Fantastic! though I did tweak it a bit. I did not have any ginger paste or garlic paste so I just added a few dashes of ground ginger and minced garlic along with an extra bit of olive oil. Also instead of jalapenos, I used some hot chili sauce which I think better compliments the spices. This turned out perfectly. I love that it is low fat and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felicity
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Very good! My mom loved it and she hates fish. (but she loves cilantro) Not a very strong curry flavour, but I didn't have tumeric or jalapenos so I chopped a green pepper and added a couple dashes of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicity

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was a really great way to use up cod! I didnt have some of the spices on hand so substituted curry powder and would agree with others that it needs a little bit of salt on the fish before it is added. Other than that this is a great recipe! I served it over brown rice:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. The spices blended perfectly to create a delicious, authentic-tasting curry. The only addition I made was to add a little extra salt. I served it with aloo gobhi from another site and whole wheat parathas for a delicious, not too fatty meal. To the reviewer who thought this wasn't a real curry because it did not contain curry powder: the spices in this dish come together to create a curry flavor. Curry powder is just a blend of some of the same spices found in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed this. I used finely minced garlic and ginger in place of the pastes, but otherwise made the recipe exactly as written. We ended up needing to add extra salt. I served it over millet. It was a great way to eat frozen fish, as I find strong flavors are helpful when not using fresh fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Great flavor and texture!! I peeled and cut 2 zucchinis into chunks and added them shortly after adding the onion. I also discovered i had no lemons or lemon juice but did have limes so i substituted lime juice. I didn't use near as much jalapeno-had a drying one and cut it up and added only some. It had quite a bite, but my 9yo ate it with lots of rice and enjoyed it. made my own garlic and ginger paste using an allrecipes recipe. I will make this again and hopefully get quicker at prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: University City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I made this with haddock instead of cod as I prefer the taste, both my husband and I really enjoyed it. It was perhaps less spicy than it might have been as I only had one chilli pepper, having said that it's probably just as well as I gave it to my 1 year old too - she enjoyed it. I prepared the sauce and then did exactly as the recipe said, I left it for a few hours whilst we went to see a show at the theatre. It was definitely a good idea, the taste had really improved and when we came home I just heated it up, added the fish, and wow...it was a really tasty meal. We had it with rice - I tried coconut rice for the first time from this website. To be honest I should have stuck with plain basmati, I would have enjoyed my fish even more. Top marks for this recipe, it's definitely one I will use again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzylou75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States