Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
As a Newfoundlander, I have to say that this is definitely the best Cod Au Gratin recipe out there! My husband's grandmother makes a very similar dish, and the taste always reminds of home! A layer of buttered bread crumbs will provide a nice alternative or addition to the cheese. But this recipe is great without it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almonte, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
This dish is simply awesome. I adjusted the seaoning a little based upon other reviews. For seasoning I used 1/4 tsp. black pepper, 1/4 tsp. garlic, 1/4 tsp. dry mustard and 1/2 tsp. salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I agree with the other reviews. I used the recipe as is...except I added about 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese. I layed the cheese alternatly with the fish. I also added some garlic powder and two tablesoons of dried parsley. My husband LOVED it. The kids (ages 2 & 3) also loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
this was wonderful everyone liked it I served it with rice I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
My family enjoyed this meal. the only change I made was I used 1 pound of cod and 1 pound of special crab meat. Very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
This was awesome!! I don't like to try new fishy recipes, but I am glad I tried this one. My hubby and I loved it. I used Whiting instead of Cod(it was all I had). I took the advice of another poster and added the different seasonings and I fried the fish in olive oil and minced garlic for extra flavor. I added italian bread crumbs on top for a nice finish! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
From one Newfoundlander to another, this is the best! I hadn't tasted cod au gratin since I was a child. I varied your recipe a little by sprinkling a little olive oil on the cod and microwaving it. I sauteed some garlic in the melted butter before adding flour, but I think I overdid the garlic. I'll use much less next time. I also added dry mustard, nutmeg, parsley and put some of the cheese in the sauce. Even my husband liked it, and he's not a Newfie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This recipe turned out wonderful. I seasoned and sauteed the filet in a little melted butter and olive oil first; then added dry mustard, crushed garlic, black pepper, and about half of the cheese to the sauce. Then added half a can of LeSuer peas (drained). I flaked the cod and layered with the sauce as suggested. Think it would be great over either noodles or rice. Quick, easy, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This is a very yummy fish recipe! I get sick of eating fish the same way, so this is a nice change. Of course, the fact that it has lots of cheese in it makes it a winner for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Absolutely delicious! I get tired of fish the same old way and have given up and eaten it only in restaurants, but this recipe was very easy and very flavorful, its the new fish favorite at my household, my husband gave it a thumbs up as well. I did take the suggestion of others and used garlic, onion, cayenne pepper and parsley in the sauce and also sauted the fish first in garlic and butter. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States